![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
So let me get this straight so I don't look like the rookie umpire:
BR misses 1B without defense tag of base or runner before BR passes: Signal safe and wait for an appeal. BR misses 1B with purposeful tag of base or runner after BR passes (no verbal appeal is made): Signal safe and wait for verbal appeal. BR misses 1B with appeal: Call BR out on appeal. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
wow this is gonna be a 5 page thread on this.... its not hard.. the runner is safe until the defense appeals... if a runner leaves a base early on a fly ball, do you call him out cause he left early, or do you wait till the defense appeals? Its not rocket science guys. sorry if i make someone mad.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well it's not quite that easy. Thanks goodness we have an umpire who actually wants to learn a rule application. What they eliminated was plays like R1, BR hits into the gap and R1 misses 2B on the way to third. Until a couple of years ago, if F9 threw the ball in to F6 and he accidentally stepped on the bag, you had an out. Now, it requires an actual appeal. Same with the play at 1B, it's a little tricky. And of course you have plays at the plate which are completely different. So, it's not rocket science, but its not all that easy to understand either. ![]() Thanks David |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So regarding the question about a "purposeful" tag, I would have to rule on what the purpose was. F3 gloving the throw (late) has a purpose, but that purpose is not an appeal. If is purpose is to appeal and he makes that obvious in some way (usually by stating "he missed the base!" or some such), then I will rule on the appeal.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by DonInKansas; Fri Mar 13, 2009 at 08:56am. |
|
|||
|
Yes. A runner acquires the base when he touches it or passes it. If a runner crosses, but does not touch, home plate, and there is no appeal, he scores a run.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
No different. 2. "Safing" ? Would the opposite be "outing"? |
|
|||
|
I hate that expression almost as much as saying, "I balled the pitch." It too sounds a little bit "odd."
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If BR hits a ball to the gap, misses first on his way to second. When BR is half way to second, F9 throws the ball out of play. Where are you going to place the BR? |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=DonInKansas;587888]How has the BR beaten the throw to 1B if he hasn't touched the base yet? I fail to see the logic here. SO if the BR steps to the side of the base and runs through, you're safing him if he "beats the throw?"[/QUOTE]
Everyday today and twice on sunday....LOL come on man did a tornado run through your field..... of course your going to safe him, the runner beat the ball to the base right? now the defense has to appeal that he missed a base...
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The play requires the runner to be beyond the bag clearly. Not just his lead foot, hand, or head all the way past.. And the appeal must be clear and obvious: Ex. BR misses 1B, has beaten the throw is called safe. But has missed the bag, BR now turns to the left into fair territory on his return to 1B. F3 with his new gained knowledge of appealing a runner missing 1B, turns and tags the returning runner. Unless he say's something to indicate an appeal of the missed base; I call safe, "no, he did not make an attempt or fake towards 2B. Quote:
1. You make no call, the run counts. 2. You make no call, the run counts. 3. You call him out, if he missed the plate and there is "a proper appeal". The only time you signal anything at any base is when there is a play. Or in the instance of a time play. So, if I see you on a grandslam, make 4 safe calls, I'm throwing a peanut at ya from the gallery.. Just remember you don't rule on a runner missing a base or leaving early. You rule on an appeal of a runner missing a base or leaving early.
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
|
We are taught that the runner is assumed to have touched the base and we are supposed to let the defense make an appeal. We then rule on the appeal.
The idiotic FED rule of the umpire calling runners out has been removed for a long time now (thankfully) and all the codes agree.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Missed base - what to do, what to do? | Linknblue | Softball | 36 | Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:33pm |
| Missed first base | blueump | Baseball | 79 | Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm |
| Missed base | Robert G | Baseball | 4 | Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm |
| Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |
| Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |