![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the runner passes the plate prior to the non-force third out, the run counts on the time play unless the defense appeals for an advantageous "fourth out". If R2 retouches before the appeal but after the third out, the retouch is simply ignored as illegal. If a proper missed-base appeal is made, it is upheld and the run does not count regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out. If no appeal is made, the run counts regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I reached a dead end
Quote:
BTW, if that umpire denied my catcher's verbal appeal at the plate, I would have called for a HBP as soon as ball was back in play to set up the Force Play. JMOHO
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Jan 06, 2009 at 07:17pm. |
|
|||
|
SAump Case Play
Just out of curiosity:
R1, base hit back to F1 who is distracted by possible play at 2B, B/R safely slides into 1B. Forgetting the rules, he stands up to shake the dirt out of his crotch. Big lumbering 1B applies a swipe tag and misses. The runner retreats a yard or two toward HP. F3 waits on the base with the ball. He realizes a chase would be futile. B/R is facing 1B but you know he's quick and can run away from F3. F3 is facing B/R but is holding R1 at 2B. When do I have desertion/abandonment when a tag play is now required or is this another stalemate? The 1B coach is screaming he called time but the umpire was slow in granting it. Action can be relaxed or unrelaxed, take your pick. The ruling from NY isn't expected for 3 more half-innings. Reference: Roder's Problem #6
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jan 04, 2009 at 12:01am. |
|
|||
|
F3 should walk toward home, forcing the BR back toward the plate. At the same time, F3 should keep an eye on the other runner, holding him at 2B. When the BR retreats all the way to home plate, he's out. Merely moving backward toward the plate to avoid a tag is not abandonment.
Whatever the coach is screaming about time out is irrelevant. [In case anybody cares: in ASA softball, the BR would be out for stepping backward to delay or avoid a tag, and even though the BR touched 1B, the . . . ahem . . . "force" at 1B is reinstated when the runner retreated toward the last base he "occupied" (home).]
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
It may look good in a umpire book
Quote:
Edited note: Previous statements COMPLETELY deleted and cut to the point below. Is the caseplay included in any edition of the 2008 MLBUM, JEA, J/R or PBUC "training" material? Has the 1 year old caseplay been accepted and approved by the participants of NAPBL?
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jan 04, 2009 at 06:08pm. |
|
|||
|
This situation was discussed at length earlier this year on a couple forums with no clear consensus amongst the participants. If you do a search, you'll find a pretty decent sized thread from earlier this year.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| MLBUM | LeftyRef | Baseball | 15 | Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:05pm |
| MLBUM | greymule | Baseball | 1 | Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:19pm |