Thread: Mlbum 5-4(1)
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 04:14pm
Publius Publius is offline
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Bruno_ View Post
from J/R

If a runner misses home plate and does not return to touch it, a time play is judged according to the time he passed the plate. If he returns to touch home, the passing of the plate is negated and the time play is judged according to the actual touch of the plate. EG: R2, two outs. The batter singles to center field. The throw to the plate is relayed to second base and R2 misses home plate just before the batter-runner is tagged out:
(a) If R2 proceeds to his dugout or position and all infielders leave fair territory (no appeal), R2's run counts. [NFHS 8.2.2n]
(b) If the defense appeals R2's miss of the plate, he is out and there is no run.
(c) If R2 returns to the plate and touches it after the out at second base, his "touch or pass" of home plate has then occurred after the third out, and cannot be counted; this is a time play.
Evans provides a more workable interpretation, IMO.

If the runner passes the plate prior to the non-force third out, the run counts on the time play unless the defense appeals for an advantageous "fourth out". If R2 retouches before the appeal but after the third out, the retouch is simply ignored as illegal.

If a proper missed-base appeal is made, it is upheld and the run does not count regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.

If no appeal is made, the run counts regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.
Reply With Quote