The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
If at the time of the third out the runner was scrambling back toward to plate in an obvious attempt to correct a miss, is an appeal still necessary?
Yes, a runner is considered to have touched a base until it is appealed. The PU should have scored you in your scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Yes, a runner is considered to have touched a base until it is appealed. The PU should have scored you in your scenario.
from J/R

If a runner misses home plate and does not return to touch it, a time play is judged according to the time he passed the plate. If he returns to touch home, the passing of the plate is negated and the time play is judged according to the actual touch of the plate. EG: R2, two outs. The batter singles to center field. The throw to the plate is relayed to second base and R2 misses home plate just before the batter-runner is tagged out:
(a) If R2 proceeds to his dugout or position and all infielders leave fair territory (no appeal), R2's run counts. [NFHS 8.2.2n]
(b) If the defense appeals R2's miss of the plate, he is out and there is no run.
(c) If R2 returns to the plate and touches it after the out at second base, his "touch or pass" of home plate has then occurred after the third out, and cannot be counted; this is a time play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 04:14pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Bruno_ View Post
from J/R

If a runner misses home plate and does not return to touch it, a time play is judged according to the time he passed the plate. If he returns to touch home, the passing of the plate is negated and the time play is judged according to the actual touch of the plate. EG: R2, two outs. The batter singles to center field. The throw to the plate is relayed to second base and R2 misses home plate just before the batter-runner is tagged out:
(a) If R2 proceeds to his dugout or position and all infielders leave fair territory (no appeal), R2's run counts. [NFHS 8.2.2n]
(b) If the defense appeals R2's miss of the plate, he is out and there is no run.
(c) If R2 returns to the plate and touches it after the out at second base, his "touch or pass" of home plate has then occurred after the third out, and cannot be counted; this is a time play.
Evans provides a more workable interpretation, IMO.

If the runner passes the plate prior to the non-force third out, the run counts on the time play unless the defense appeals for an advantageous "fourth out". If R2 retouches before the appeal but after the third out, the retouch is simply ignored as illegal.

If a proper missed-base appeal is made, it is upheld and the run does not count regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.

If no appeal is made, the run counts regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Publius View Post
Evans provides a more workable interpretation, IMO.

If the runner passes the plate prior to the non-force third out, the run counts on the time play unless the defense appeals for an advantageous "fourth out". If R2 retouches before the appeal but after the third out, the retouch is simply ignored as illegal.

If a proper missed-base appeal is made, it is upheld and the run does not count regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.

If no appeal is made, the run counts regardless of whether R2 retouches after the third out.
This is what I based my interp off of. I like Evan's interp over J/R's in this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 03, 2009, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
I reached a dead end

Quote:
This ruling comes from The Wendelstedt Umpire School Manual. After reviewing my JEA (unknown date) and the 2008 MLBUM, they do not address this. Relaxed and unrelaxed actions have been used by J/R (don't own) and do not seem to apply here.

Sitch B: The runner slides wide of the plate and the catcher misses with his sweeping tag effort. The runner gets up and decoys that he is going to the dugout then reverses his path abruptly and dives for the plate. The catcher jumps on the plate with the ball held securely and appeals before the runner touches it. Is this a proper appeal or does the run count?
RULING: This out stands since the runner did not make an “immediate effort to return.” (Umpire's judgment) At one point, the catcher would have been required to leave the plate area to make the play.
This ruling comes from said JEA and is supported by Wendelstedt.
The tag-only requirement in regards to the OP needs further refinement, as 2008 D3K did.
BTW, if that umpire denied my catcher's verbal appeal at the plate, I would have called for a HBP as soon as ball was back in play to set up the Force Play. JMOHO
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Tue Jan 06, 2009 at 07:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 03, 2009, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
SAump Case Play

Just out of curiosity:

R1, base hit back to F1 who is distracted by possible play at 2B, B/R safely slides into 1B. Forgetting the rules, he stands up to shake the dirt out of his crotch. Big lumbering 1B applies a swipe tag and misses. The runner retreats a yard or two toward HP. F3 waits on the base with the ball. He realizes a chase would be futile. B/R is facing 1B but you know he's quick and can run away from F3. F3 is facing B/R but is holding R1 at 2B. When do I have desertion/abandonment when a tag play is now required or is this another stalemate? The 1B coach is screaming he called time but the umpire was slow in granting it. Action can be relaxed or unrelaxed, take your pick. The ruling from NY isn't expected for 3 more half-innings.

Reference: Roder's Problem #6
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sun Jan 04, 2009 at 12:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
F3 should walk toward home, forcing the BR back toward the plate. At the same time, F3 should keep an eye on the other runner, holding him at 2B. When the BR retreats all the way to home plate, he's out. Merely moving backward toward the plate to avoid a tag is not abandonment.

Whatever the coach is screaming about time out is irrelevant.

[In case anybody cares: in ASA softball, the BR would be out for stepping backward to delay or avoid a tag, and even though the BR touched 1B, the . . . ahem . . . "force" at 1B is reinstated when the runner retreated toward the last base he "occupied" (home).]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MLBUM LeftyRef Baseball 15 Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:05pm
MLBUM greymule Baseball 1 Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1