The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 27, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
greymule,

The crux of the plays under discussion is that the bases are loaded, and R3 is forced to advance on an award. A situation with only R1 is not relevant.

The question is: Is R3's advance to the plate (when forced to advance by an award with 2 outs) a timing play or not? OBR 7.04b and the following CMT make clear that it is not a timing play. [As an aside, notwithstanding Internet discussion and rationalization, the rules of baseball give the same effect to a put out and a declared out.]

If the force is removed, then subsequent scoring opportunities are timing plays. So on a walk, if for example R2 abandons before reaching third, then R3 doesn't score. For both single and multi-base awards, if B/R misses first or deserts, no runs score (in this case, because of 4.09). For multi-base awards, if B/R reaches first safely but is out before safely reaching second, only one run automatically scores, etc.

That's for OBR. NCAA has two inconsistent rulings:

Quote:
NCAA 8-3a:
a. If forced to vacate the base because of a following runner;
A.R.—With two outs, if a runner is awarded home but does not touch the plate before a following runner is put out for the third out, the run scores unless the batter-runner was declared out before reaching first base or any other runner was declared out before reaching the base to which he was forced.
This A.R. corresponds well to OBR 7.04b. The other NCAA ruling which is inconsistent with both OBR and the above NCAA ruling (and in my opinion, wrong) is:
Quote:
8-5m A.R.—With fewer than two outs, if a batter, while running the bases after a home run outside the playing field, passes a preceding runner, the batter is out; but all preceding runners score. With two outs, only those preceding runners score who have touched the plate before the batter is declared out. This is a time play, not an appeal play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 second count.... Mike51 Football 12 Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:11pm
does the run count? ggk Baseball 6 Fri Sep 15, 2006 05:00am
ten second count chas Basketball 8 Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:11am
25-second count Forksref Football 33 Tue Aug 24, 2004 04:08pm
25-second Count with 4-man Ed Hickland Football 10 Mon Aug 23, 2004 04:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1