![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Excuse me for my ignorance on this but is it legal in NCAA to step and throw towards a base from the windup? -Josh |
|
|||
Situation 3 is a balk and I would say the same thing. "Started .. or Not Continuous..." . You shouldn't get any grief from the coach. They all know it is a balk. But, after I called a balk this summer on something similar I perused the rule book that night for some rules refreshment to go along with the one I was drinking. I found that there is no penalty for not continuously coming set in OBR 8.01b. So what was I balking? Feinting without a step in OBR 8.05. Edited to add: If you're calling FED the same requirement is specifically penalized as a balk in 6.1.3.
Last edited by umpjim; Mon Sep 08, 2008 at 04:30pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
8.01 says that it must not be done but doesn't give a penalty and it's not specifically listed as a balk offense in 8.05. Rita |
|
|||
It is a balk in OBR if you judge it as a feint without a step (nevermind 1B) under 8.05 which is usually the case at the levels I call. If you watch some MLB setup men and closers you will see some guys not co-co-co-tin-tin-usaully come set and they are not balked. It is not judged a feint because they always do it and the runners are not driven back. Like I said, if you tell a coach "started and stopped or not continuous.. * you won't catch any grief at my levels. Just be aware of what you are really balking. And of course in FED it is a rulebook balk. I don't know about NCAA etal.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Windup position - position of pivot foot | BigGuy | Baseball | 3 | Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am |
Preliminary Signals | Dbyb | Basketball | 31 | Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:18pm |
Balks | U_of_I_Blue | Baseball | 2 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 02:47pm |
Preliminary Windup Movements (FED) | sunfudblu | Baseball | 7 | Sat May 31, 2003 08:28am |
Balks | Newbie Scott | Baseball | 3 | Mon Apr 21, 2003 05:48am |