The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Balks from the preliminary set position

What is the status of a pitcher in the preliminary set position, meaning with the pivot foot in contact with the rubber, hand on his side, looking at the catcher, but before bringing his hands together and holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop?

Sitch 1: R3, pitcher in preliminary set position. R3 takes off for home on steal attempt. Pitcher looks up and, without first stepping off backward, raises the ball above his head and takes a few steps toward home plate, then tosses ball to catcher who applies the tag for an apparent put-out. Balk? Must pitcher first step off the rubber backwards? Is raising the ball above his head and taking a step towards home a motion naturally associated with his pitch? Might we have catcher's interference?

Sitch 2: R1, pitcher in preliminary set position. Pitcher moves his pivot foot forward (towards home) off the rubber, then feints to first. Balk?

Sitch 3: R1, pitcher in preliminary set position. As pitcher begins to bring his hands together, he stops and puts them down at his sides again. What call? What if no runner?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Paul L.,

Sitch 1 - Balk! If the pitcher is not going to deliver a legal pitch, he must first disengage the rubber by stepping off behind the rubber with his pivot foot.

Sitch 2 - Balk!

Sitch 3 - Balk if there are runners, nothing if not.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
It is a balk in all three situations.

Sit 1: balk for not coming set prior to delivering a pitch from the rubber.
Sit 2: balk for not legally disengaging the rubber for a feign towards first. The pitcher must step back off of the rubber. This move can be considered a jab step move, hard to say visuallizing your sitch. With a jab step, the pitcher is considered on the rubber and a feint towards first is a balk.
Sit 3: balk for starting his motion then stopping. Moving from the stretch to the set must be one smooth continous motion.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I agree: balk in all 3 situations.

Remember, from either the set or the windup, F1 may do 1 of only 3 things:
1. pitch
2. disengage properly ("step off")
3. step and throw/feint toward a base (FED: can't do this from windup)
Your situations represent a few of the many things that do not fall under these three types of permissible activity.

BTW: try to limit yourself to just a few words when explaining a balk. So we might have:
Sit. 1: "Never disengaged." or, if it looked more like a pitch than a pickoff, "never came set."
Sit. 2: "Never disengaged."
Sit. 3: "Started and stopped."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
I agree: balk in all 3 situations.

Remember, from either the set or the windup, F1 may do 1 of only 3 things:
1. pitch
2. disengage properly ("step off")
3. step and throw/feint toward a base (FED: can't do this from windup)
Your situations represent a few of the many things that do not fall under these three types of permissible activity.

BTW: try to limit yourself to just a few words when explaining a balk. So we might have:
Sit. 1: "Never disengaged." or, if it looked more like a pitch than a pickoff, "never came set."
Sit. 2: "Never disengaged."
Sit. 3: "Started and stopped."
Good tidbit about limiting your response to a few words. It's something the veterans do out of instinct but the rookies don't ever think about.

Excuse me for my ignorance on this but is it legal in NCAA to step and throw towards a base from the windup?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara
Excuse me for my ignorance on this but is it legal in NCAA to step and throw towards a base from the windup?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Josh,

Like OBR, NCAA rules permit a pitcher to throw a pick-off from the windup.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Thanks gentleman! Out of all the leagues I've umpired (obviously I've never done a true college game) I've never operated under NCAA rules, always OBR and FED (and of course the modified rules).

-Josh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windup position - position of pivot foot BigGuy Baseball 3 Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am
Preliminary Signals Dbyb Basketball 31 Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:18pm
Balks U_of_I_Blue Baseball 2 Sat Jul 17, 2004 02:47pm
Preliminary Windup Movements (FED) sunfudblu Baseball 7 Sat May 31, 2003 08:28am
Balks Newbie Scott Baseball 3 Mon Apr 21, 2003 05:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1