![]() |
|
|||
Does the run count?
The following play was posted in the Softball Umpiring Discussion Forum on the NFHS website. I would like to entertain baseball rulings from NFHS, NCAA, and OBR/MBL (including IBF rules).
Bases loaded with two (2) outs when B4 draws a walk. R1 saunters down the base path from third base towards home plate. R2 runs from second base, tags third base, and makes the turn at third base and takes a few steps toward home plate. F2, who still has not thrown the ball back to F1 sees that R2 has rounded third base and fires the ball to F5 who tags R2 before R2 can return to third base. F5 tag of R2 occurs before R1 has touched home plate. Assuming that R1 does touch home plate, does the run count. It is my humble opinion that R1's run counts. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Does the run count? | DeputyUICHousto | Softball | 18 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:52am |
count it or not? | elecref | Basketball | 11 | Fri Oct 14, 2005 09:06pm |
5 second count | rbmartin | Basketball | 12 | Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:34am |
Should it count? | Ref in PA | Basketball | 25 | Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:19pm |
ten second count | chas | Basketball | 8 | Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:11am |