![]() |
|
|
|||
From Rule 2.00:
A FLY BALL is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight. A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possesion in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. IN FLIGHT describes a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which has not yet touched the ground or some object other than a fielder. A FIELDER is any defensive player. The PERSON of a player or and umpire is any part of his body, his clothing or his equipment. ************************************************** ****** Therefore, a fly ball can be caught by the catcher after it hits his mask, which is part of his person. He just can't use his mask to make the catch, but it can bounce off of it.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Steve,
Nice quotes and logic. The only thing is, the same rules and logic would show (incorrectly, we all know) that a batted ball which rebounds directly off the catcher's mask and is then gloved by the catcher is also an out. The ball became foul when it hit the mask, is still in flight (yes, it is still in flight, just like when the ball strikes the mask on the way down), and it was caught. Of course, there is this other rule, regrettably mis-classified under the definition of a foul tip, that says the ball can't be legally caught. How does a rules novice or "purist" know which rule takes precedence? See, if you know the rules, and you read a poorly written rule, it is easy to interpret it as confirming what you already know to be true. But if you're not sure about the rule, and the language is muddy, another source is helpful. In this case J/R is better than OBR, and FED makes the rule explicit. An aside to bobbybanaduck: You accuse the OP of neglecting the early part of the rulebook. He is too polite to point out that he quoted and bolded the rule in question in his very first post. Obviously, he didn't neglect the early part. |
|
|||
Thanks Dave. I think you are the only one that understands my post. I thought that I explained it adequately. Your interp from the J/R was the exact thing I was looking for. That and to spark some intelligent conversation.
These types of plays demonstrate that the umpire needs to have an accepted interp when the coach's only reference to the rules is the OBR. |
|
|||
Quote:
A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. Therefore, the rule which applies to a fly ball hitting equipment, and the rule pertaining to a sharp and direct batted ball hitting equipment, are two separate rulings. Is this logic just as sound?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Mon Aug 11, 2008 at 11:43pm. |
|
|||
bottom line
Don't engage in rules conversations except for another blue.
Set your "friends" straight with common sense rules interps. Act like you've been there, and then tell'em its their turn to buy. (then sneak away and check the obr, just in case)
__________________
"These go to 11" |
|
|||
Quote:
So we are left with adding to the Foul Tip definition isothat a batted ball that goes sharp and direct and touches anything (catcher, umpire, fence, bird, etc.) but the catcher's hands, is dead. Ya think OBR could edit that in during the next edition? |
|
|||
In my day we use to call that a pop-up...
I can hear the call on the radio - Deep drive to Varitek , at the warning track , reaches up, off the mask and ....yes he got it...two away..
__________________
"These go to 11" |
|
|||
There are lots of things not specifically covered in the OBR rule book...it's not in PBUC (the def of foul tip is in there with respect to a strike out where the ball might be caught or not) but that's all I could find there. I'd bet a shiny mythical quarter that J/R addresses this...and if I remember this was discussed at length on Rob Drake's old site and the pro guys on there said that if a foul tip were to be "caught" and remain live...it had to go off of F2's glove first...or, I suppose his bare hand...but if that's the case...you're going to have to make a catcher substitution as well.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
Seriously, a ball hardly ever rebounds directly off the catcher's mask and is then caught. I've never seen it. Consider that the folks that sometimes edit the OBR have just this year gotten around to better defining the path a runner may take between bases. (For years, OBR has said the runner has to follow a direct line between bases, and this phrasing of the rule meant that nearly every base runner was violating the rule as written.) Let's hope they give priority to improving the rules that are in use frequently. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
as Tim C. would say, ~sigh~
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
That's all that needed to be said: The FLY BALL bounced off the catcher's mask, then was caught. Perfectly legal.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What was I thinking???? | Andy | Softball | 11 | Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:34am |
What were they thinking?? | NCASAUmp | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:34pm |
Thinking... | brandan89 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:15am |
Thinking this through | Dudly | Basketball | 4 | Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:52pm |
Thinking about it???? | mrm21711 | Basketball | 15 | Tue Aug 03, 2004 12:07am |