The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
Now, the fact that R1 was at 2nd base at the time of the catch is immaterial, because he did not legally obtain that base.
If the runner was on or beyond 2B when the ball became dead, he could not legally re-touch 1B and would be out on proper appeal, even if he did go back and re-touch 1st.

Last edited by dash_riprock; Tue Jun 17, 2008 at 06:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:01am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
If the runner was on or beyond 2B when the ball became dead, he could not legally re-touch 1B and would be out on proper appeal, even if he did go back and re-touch 1st.
Only in FED rules. In OBR/NCAA, he most certainly can (and must) return, retouching all bases on the way or be subject to appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Only in FED rules. In OBR/NCAA, he most certainly can (and must) return, retouching all bases on the way or be subject to appeal.
NCAA 8.6. a. A.R. 2
OBR 7.10 AR(2):

"When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or the one just left if the runner has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
NCAA 8.6. a. A.R. 2
OBR 7.10 AR(2):

"When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or the one just left if the runner has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base."
What it means is:

If the runner advances AFTER the ball has become dead, he may not return.

The FED rule is:

If the runner is beyond the base WHEN the ball becomes dead, he may not return.

(And, yes, the OBR rule could be better written.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What it means is:

If the runner advances AFTER the ball has become dead, he may not return.
That's not what the rule says. It says the runner cannot re-touch during a dead ball if he HAS ADVANCED to the next base. I don't see how this could be interpreted any other way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:28am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
That's not what the rule says. It says the runner cannot re-touch during a dead ball if he HAS ADVANCED to the next base. I don't see how this could be interpreted any other way.
Well, it is.

Let me put in the words of Jaksa/Roder:

"Once a batted ball is caught, a runner is vulnerable to a retouch appeal if the ball becomes dead and he then proceeds to touch or pass an advance base.

E.G.: R1, one out. R1, thinking there are town outs, continues running past
second base as the batter's fly ball goes toward the right fielder. The
right fielder catches the ball for the second out and throws toward first
for an appeal of R1's failure to retouch. R1 is standing between second
and third when the right fielder's throw goes out of play: if R1 does not
proceed to touch third base after the ball has become dead, he can return
to touch first base, second base and third base in accepting his award. "

As Bob and I have said, in FED, the runner is caught between second and third and unless the throw out of play was intentional (in order to trap the runner), he's subject to appeal no matter what he does at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Well, it is.

Let me put in the words of Jaksa/Roder:

"Once a batted ball is caught, a runner is vulnerable to a retouch appeal if the ball becomes dead and he then proceeds to touch or pass an advance base.

E.G.: R1, one out. R1, thinking there are town outs, continues running past
second base as the batter's fly ball goes toward the right fielder. The
right fielder catches the ball for the second out and throws toward first
for an appeal of R1's failure to retouch. R1 is standing between second
and third when the right fielder's throw goes out of play: if R1 does not
proceed to touch third base after the ball has become dead, he can return
to touch first base, second base and third base in accepting his award. "

As Bob and I have said, in FED, the runner is caught between second and third and unless the throw out of play was intentional (in order to trap the runner), he's subject to appeal no matter what he does at this point.
I am aware of the J/R interpretation and don't agree with it. To me, J/R is misreading the rule rather than interpreting it. Is there any other "authoritative opinion" supporting J/R? Is it in the BRD? What does Evans say about it?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 325
I agree with dash. I also don't believe we need to have the runner go through the exercise of returning to first, touching it, then going to third on the out of play award. Basically, I don't think "touching up" is that big a deal in this situation
Here is my reasoning: many of you are saying R1 is subject to appeal for leaving too soon and, since the ball went out of play before returned he did not arrive at 2B legally. And, since he he can't return to 1B he's going to be out no matter what he does.
But here's the problem - if that were the case, R1, fly ball to RF down the line. R1 takes off thinking it'll drop.F9 makes a flying circus catch, lands, and sees he'll never get a throw off th F3 to double off the runner. So he tosses the ball into the stands. SAME situation. Dead ball. R1 has not returned. Are you going to ring R1 up because F9 threw the ball out of play?
Forget the retouch on a dead ball. Don't waste the time. Award 3B and play ball.

Last edited by LakeErieUmp; Tue Jun 17, 2008 at 08:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:39am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeErieUmp
I agree with dash. I also don't believe we need to have the runner go through the exercise of returning to first, touching it, then going to third on the out of play award. Basically, I don't think "touching up" is that big a deal in this situation.
First of all, this only applies in FED ball, so I'll restrict my comments to that. It's still an appeal. I award bases. Runner returns, touches first, goes to third. The ball is dead. Someone still has to appeal this.

Quote:
Here is my reasoning: many of you are saying R1 is subject to appeal for leaving too soon and, since the ball went out of play before returned he did not arrive at 2B legally. And, since he he can't return to 1B he's going to be out no matter what he does.
But here's the problem - if that were the case, R1, fly ball to RF down the line. R1 takes off thinking it'll drop.F9 makes a flying circus catch, lands, and sees he'll never get a throw off th F3 to double off the runner. So he tosses the ball into the stands. SAME situation. Dead ball. R1 has not returned. Are you going to ring R1 up because F9 threw the ball out of play?
Forget the retouch on a dead ball. Don't waste the time. Award 3B and play ball.
There is a specific rule that deals with F9 throwing it away on purpose. I mentioned that in a previous post. The runner is THEN (in FED only, since that's the only place this applies) allowed to retouch and advance. And this retouch business is important since all awarded bases have to be touched in order in accordance with the rules of baserunning. And a rule of baserunning is that all runners must retouch their time of pitch base after a ball is caught or be subject to appeal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Injury on Awarded Bases TussAgee11 Baseball 8 Tue May 06, 2008 11:01am
Out of play bases awarded? jeisch Baseball 12 Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:54am
# of bases awarded (overthrow)? Robmoz Softball 19 Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:21pm
Awarded bases and appeals. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 5 Sun Jun 23, 2002 10:43am
Awarded bases - hit by pitch Blue316 Baseball 8 Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1