The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
slowballbaker,

The R1 is awarded 3B.

JM

And subject to being out on appeal if he doesn't go back and touch first base.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Slow ball, the reason is: First play by an infielder - 2 bases from time of pitch, (TOP). Second play by an infield or first by an outfielder, 2 bases from Time of Throw, (TOT). Now, the fact that R1 was at 2nd base at the time of the catch is immaterial, because he did not legally obtain that base.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
TOP or TOT is immaterial, since both would be from 1B.

Also, your post doesn't tell the guy which it is in this case (it's TOT, since the first play was catching the pop fly).

Finally, R1 was not at 2B in the OP, he was between 1B and 2B.

Not your best contribution, RP.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
More controversial is the case where R1 is past 2B when the ball goes out of play. The award is 2 bases from TOT, but do you award him home (since he's past 2B) or 3B (2 bases from the last base legally touched)?

No need to answer -- there's whole threads on this one you can search for.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
TOP or TOT is immaterial, since both would be from 1B.

Also, your post doesn't tell the guy which it is in this case (it's TOT, since the first play was catching the pop fly).
"Catching the ball" isn't the "first play." And, PBUC / MLBUM make it clear that the award is from TOP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
MB, I wasn't trying to tell the OP how to rule on the play, I was "reviewing" for his edification, the basics. The way I read the OP, R1 had "run all the way to 2nd base". Sorry to disappoint you..(wink).
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
Now, the fact that R1 was at 2nd base at the time of the catch is immaterial, because he did not legally obtain that base.
If the runner was on or beyond 2B when the ball became dead, he could not legally re-touch 1B and would be out on proper appeal, even if he did go back and re-touch 1st.

Last edited by dash_riprock; Tue Jun 17, 2008 at 06:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:01am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
If the runner was on or beyond 2B when the ball became dead, he could not legally re-touch 1B and would be out on proper appeal, even if he did go back and re-touch 1st.
Only in FED rules. In OBR/NCAA, he most certainly can (and must) return, retouching all bases on the way or be subject to appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Only in FED rules. In OBR/NCAA, he most certainly can (and must) return, retouching all bases on the way or be subject to appeal.
NCAA 8.6. a. A.R. 2
OBR 7.10 AR(2):

"When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or the one just left if the runner has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
NCAA 8.6. a. A.R. 2
OBR 7.10 AR(2):

"When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or the one just left if the runner has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base."
What it means is:

If the runner advances AFTER the ball has become dead, he may not return.

The FED rule is:

If the runner is beyond the base WHEN the ball becomes dead, he may not return.

(And, yes, the OBR rule could be better written.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What it means is:

If the runner advances AFTER the ball has become dead, he may not return.
That's not what the rule says. It says the runner cannot re-touch during a dead ball if he HAS ADVANCED to the next base. I don't see how this could be interpreted any other way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Injury on Awarded Bases TussAgee11 Baseball 8 Tue May 06, 2008 11:01am
Out of play bases awarded? jeisch Baseball 12 Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:54am
# of bases awarded (overthrow)? Robmoz Softball 19 Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:21pm
Awarded bases and appeals. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 5 Sun Jun 23, 2002 10:43am
Awarded bases - hit by pitch Blue316 Baseball 8 Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1