![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Rich, is it ok to fake throw to an 'unoccupied' base?
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
||||
Quote:
The retort is that "the fielder is never required to throw to second." So that's where it sits. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
||||
Quote:
BTW, I balked this during the game, which spurred the discussion. It didn't matter since it was R1 only and he advanced to second on the feint anyway. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 8.05 81 (d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play; However,(and after 8.05d) comment 8.05 b says (b) With a runner on first base the pitcher may make a complete turn, without hesitating toward first, and throw to second. This is not to be interpreted as throwing to an unoccupied base. So if by definition, if this is "not to be interpreted as throwing to an unoccupied base", then 2nd is not considered "unoccupied". If it is not considered "unoccupied", then 8.05 (d) does not apply. |
|
|||
Marion, you are correct IF the runner is actually advancing to 2b.
To reiterate, in FED a 'feint' is considered an advance in this situation, so no balk is called. In OBR (all baseball outside of FEDlandia) if the runner feints and goes back to 1b, then you don't have a play at 2b. That is a balk.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
With R1 only, 2B is unoccupied. F1 can throw to 2B only to make a play by 8.05(d). This concerns WHETHER F1 may throw to an unoccupied base.
8.05(b) concerns HOW F1 may throw to an unoccupied base, not WHETHER he may do so. He must do so with a complete turn, without hesitation toward 1B. The rules do not conflict because they concern different questions.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
How, you say...
Quote:
However, following your logic, it's like saying, "you cannot throw to an unoccupied base, but when you do, here's how you have to do it." So then it comes down "to make a play". I guess that's another discussion. Thanks to all of you for your input. Last edited by MarionTiger; Wed Jun 18, 2008 at 10:10pm. Reason: left this out... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Things I learned this weekend...... | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 16 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 02:05pm |
Things I have learned | CentralINRef | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:43am |
Learned something last night watching the Texas UCLA game... | AlabamaBlue | Softball | 1 | Mon May 26, 2003 05:41pm |
Lesson Learned | Todd VandenAkker | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 15, 2000 02:31pm |