![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
There are two aspects of play #2 that intrigue me, however. 1) Whether the run scores or not is important, for sure, 2) but I also want to resolve whether F3 has to tag the runner or not. If the answer is, no - then how do you balance that with Play #1 where there seems to be a consensus that this forced runner must be tagged? David Emerling Memphis, TN |
|
|||
David...
In your first post I over read the fact that the bases were loaded. That led me to believe that we had a tag play at the plate. From there, I assumed we never had "relaxed action"; I envisioned a play in which the runner, in an attempt to miss the tag, over slid the base and tried to scramble back in to the plate. My apologies. Disregard it, I was thinking another sitch. I'll agree with Rich on play 2 though. Pretty clear cut... a force is not removed on a missed base. We debated a similar play 1 several weeks ago... in 2 separate threads - very in depth. Here is the link... Appeal questions and (FED) Missing a base DOES NOT remove the force These two threads confused me so much I won't even go into it... it is late. Perhaps tomorrow I will dig through and construct a post with more rule references. Tata... Last edited by TussAgee11; Thu Jun 05, 2008 at 11:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Now I have so many questions. SITUATION: R3, 2 outs. Batter hits a slow roller to F6. R3 goes on contact and scores easily. The throw to F3 is late but the BR misses the bag as he goes flying by. QUESTIONS: #1: BR overruns the base and does not indicate by his actions that he has missed the base. Nonetheless, F3 keeps his foot on the base and tells the umpire "He missed the bag!" Is the runner out on appeal? Does the run count? #2: Same as #1 accept the F3 tags the BR. Is the runner out on appeal? Does the run count? * * * * Also, I'm still not sure about my play where R3 (with the bases loaded) slides past home, missing it, and the catcher retrieves the loose ball and tags the plate while the runner is scrambling back to the plate. Is the runner out on appeal? * * * * NEW PLAY: Bases loaded, 2 outs. A hard smash is hit toward F5. He dives and knocks the hot grounder down. The only possible play is on R2. But R2 beats any attempt to force him out but, as he slides by the bag, he completely misses it. F5 recovers the loose ball and tags the base before the runner, attempting to scramble back. can get back to the base. Is the runner out? Is this an appeal or a force? Does the run count? David Emerling Memphis, TN |
|
|||
I'll give this one a go. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Quote:
In situation 2, the batter is out and the run again does not count because he did not acquire first base. It doesn't matter if he tags the base or tags the runner- the important thing to remember is that he did not acquire the base he was forced to advance to. Quote:
b) action is unrelaxed and the suspect runner is tagged off base. In the situation you describe, action was unrelaxed because the runner was scrambling to get back to home and the ball is in the vicinity of the area. Quote:
Here is a case play from J/R that is similar to the one you described: R1,R3, two outs, hit and run. Batter singles to right field and R1 passes but does not touch second base. The second baseman recognizes the miss of 2nd, as does the runner, who scrambles back towards second. The second baseman glove the right fielder's throw and tags second base a step ahead of R1's return. Because action is unrelaxed, there is not an appeal. R1 is out only if tagged off base. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
PLAY: R1 and R3, two outs. Grounder in the hole on the left side. F6 fields the ball and his only play is at 2nd. His throw is in the dirt but blocked by F4. The ball bounces about 5 feet away from the bag. R1 slides past the bag, never touching it, and is now a considerable distance off the bag. Both the runner and fielder scramble. The fielder gains control of the ball and tags R1 out before he can get back.
The run counts - for now. Now the defense wants to appeal that R1 missed the base. They are seeking an "advantageous fourth out" in order to nullify the run. They don't want the tag out - they want the missed base appeal out. They tag the base and the umpire calls R1 out, on appeal, and the run is nullfied. Agreed? I'm wondering if anybody in this forum does any NCAA umpiring? I'm curious as to whether a fielder can immediately tag the base after a runner slides past, without touching, a base on a force play? David Emerling Memphis, TN Last edited by David Emerling; Sun Jun 08, 2008 at 12:54am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed first base | blueump | Baseball | 79 | Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm |
HR, missed base | Jay R | Baseball | 18 | Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm |
Missed base | Robert G | Baseball | 4 | Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm |
Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |