![]() |
|
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Now if a runner who is forced to second misses second and is diving back all the fielder needs to do is tag the bag correct. This is a force play and the play is not over as the runner never touched. Correct?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Also, keep in mind that FED did away with the 'accidental appeal" 2-3 yrs. ago. Generally speaking when action is "Un-Relaxed" ie; Runner scrambling back to the bag, the runner MUST be tagged in order to record the out. When action is relaxed ie: R1 misses second base and is standing on third base. Then all the defense needs to do is tag the bag to record the out. In addition the appeal does not have to be berbal but it MUST be an Unmistakable act. ie: one out R1. Hit and run and B1 hits a line shot right at F4 who simply flips to F3 to get the easy DP. That is an unmistakable act on the part of the defense to get R1. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Just a thought.
If BR gets into a pickle between home and 1st, can 1st base be tagged for an out, or does the BR have to be tagged?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
So....................let's say: Runner forced to second. Throw to second. Runner beats the throw and slides past and misses the base. He is scrambling back. He has to be tagged as the force was removed. Correct?
Now........ Runner forced to second. Throw goes to first and BR is safe. Runner has rounded second after missing second base. Runner stops and starts to return. Throw from first to second. Is the force still on? Is is different because the play wasn't initially at second? Runner still have to be tagged? |
|
|||
It's not that complicated. What is the fielder doing? If he's playing on the runner scrambling back, he must tag him. If he's appealing the missed base, all he needs to do is touch the base and say "he missed the base" (or otherwise make clear that it's an appeal).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Case 8.2.2 Situation E
RULING: Since the runner has initiated action to return, the defense must tag him unless it is a force play, in which case all they would need to do is touch the base with the ball. Wouldn't my above post constitute a force play? |
|
|||
If it's obvious that this is the reason the defense is touching the base, than yes.
If player misses 2nd, and the 2b is chasing him to go tag him, and steps on the base in doing so, its not a proper appeal. If he runs and touches 2nd, stops, and looks at you, then you have a proper appeal. Correct? |
|
|||
a fielder HAS to tag a runner who missed a base IF the runner is attempting to get back to the base. However, this is not the case on a force play as the fielder only needs to touch the base with the ball.
My question is: Is the BR to first a force play? I don't think it is. By NF definition it is not. However, in one of their cases (not dealing with a missed first base) they refer to the BR to first as a "force out". Which is it? |
|
|||
Quote:
BR to 1B has some similarities to a force play, and is sometimes treated as if it were. Call it a "quasi-force play" if you like. If you have the specific case play that's confusing you, we could try explaining that ruling.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Not trying to be argumentative here as I was taught just as you were, but.......
Why would the case 8.2.2E reference a force play when returning to touch a missed base if that is not possible. If passing a base and failing to touch it removes the force then why would they put the force play language in the case? Anyone have a rules reference as to WHEN a force is removed? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb Last edited by mbyron; Mon May 12, 2008 at 06:47am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
3rd out on appeal | CecilOne | Softball | 39 | Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:25pm |
Appeal | mach3 | Softball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am |
OBR Appeal | tasoump | Baseball | 1 | Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm |
Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |
Out on Appeal ??? | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am |