![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Dead ball, the runner is awarded home.
If the runner touches 3rd before the ball becomes dead, and then touches the plate, he scores legally. Otherwise, out on proper appeal. A runner cannot return to touch a missed base if he is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball becomes dead. |
|
|||
|
I'm going to argue a second possible appeal--in returning to third, he did not touch the plate. So even if he got to third before the ball went dead, wouldn't you allow an appeal at home for failing to retouch it on the way back?
__________________
Scott (aka 4bases1bat) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But say he left third early, touched home, walked toward the dugout, then bypassed home as he returned to third and stayed there (no play, no ball thrown out of play). Would he be out if they appealed home? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| What is the proper ruling on this? | ump66 | Baseball | 11 | Fri May 11, 2007 06:15pm |
| Coach wants help making a proper appeal | NewNCref | Softball | 18 | Wed May 09, 2007 10:15am |
| Proper Appeal | Four Seam | Softball | 2 | Thu May 03, 2007 10:22pm |
| Partner not allowing proper appeal | NSABlue | Softball | 5 | Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:39pm |
| What's the proper coverage on this play? | TwoBits | Softball | 20 | Mon Apr 04, 2005 08:27pm |