The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Appeal play & proper ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/43898-appeal-play-proper-ruling.html)

m084307 Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:43pm

Appeal play & proper ruling
 
1 out man on 3rd. Batter hits a fly to RF for a catch, runner doesn't tag & touches home plate. Almost in the dugout he attempts to correct his mistake. He runs back to 3rd but does not touch home plate actually jumps over it. Meanwhile the throw from the right fielder to 3rd trying to double him off goes into dead ball area.

dash_riprock Sun Apr 27, 2008 01:32pm

Dead ball, the runner is awarded home.

If the runner touches 3rd before the ball becomes dead, and then touches the plate, he scores legally. Otherwise, out on proper appeal. A runner cannot return to touch a missed base if he is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball becomes dead.

[email protected] Sun Apr 27, 2008 02:18pm

I'm going to argue a second possible appeal--in returning to third, he did not touch the plate. So even if he got to third before the ball went dead, wouldn't you allow an appeal at home for failing to retouch it on the way back?

lawump Sun Apr 27, 2008 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock
A runner cannot return to touch a missed base if he is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball becomes dead.

TRUE in FED

FALSE in OBR

lawump Sun Apr 27, 2008 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by [email protected]
I'm going to argue a second possible appeal--in returning to third, he did not touch the plate. So even if he got to third before the ball went dead, wouldn't you allow an appeal at home for failing to retouch it on the way back?

In OBR...NO...as long as he touched home plate after being told to score after the ball went into DBT. OBR has the "last time by" doctrine. As long as he touched the plate (or any base) on his "last time by" he is not liable to being called "out" on appeal for missing it on a previous time by.

bossman72 Sun Apr 27, 2008 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lawump
In OBR...NO...as long as he touched home plate after being told to score after the ball went into DBT. OBR has the "last time by" doctrine. As long as he touched the plate (or any base) on his "last time by" he is not liable to being called "out" on appeal for missing it on a previous time by.


But say he left third early, touched home, walked toward the dugout, then bypassed home as he returned to third and stayed there (no play, no ball thrown out of play). Would he be out if they appealed home?

lawump Sun Apr 27, 2008 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72
But say he left third early, touched home, walked toward the dugout, then bypassed home as he returned to third and stayed there (no play, no ball thrown out of play). Would he be out if they appealed home?

Yes.

bossman72 Sun Apr 27, 2008 08:58pm

Ok that's what I thought. Just needed confirmation. Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1