![]() |
|
|
|||
Runner returns to the base last touched at the time of interference. It's conceivable that R1 could have reached 2B if he had been stealing and the bunt play were slow developing, but generally R1 will return. Certainly the "expected" call is to return the runner.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Regardless, in the OP, it's time of pitch. |
|
|||
Quote:
Here are a couple to start with: FED 8-2-9 and OBR 2.00 - Interference. In both codes, runners return to the base last touched at the time of interference. The only code where runners might return to their TOP base is NCAA, which was not relevant to the OP.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Rule 2.00 (Interference) Comment: In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.
So in the OP, B/R is interfering by being out of the running lane, and the inteference happens before B/R reached first. TOP |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Ump25,
Which reference says "time of pitch" following an "intervening play"? Not arguing, just curious. I don't recall seeing that one. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The Running Lane | tcblue13 | Softball | 21 | Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm |
Running Lane? | DG | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 18, 2005 04:42pm |
Running Lane | englanj5 | Baseball | 13 | Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:39pm |
Running Lane | jicecone | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:08pm |
Running Lane | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am |