![]() |
|
|||
|
BU makes his call as if nothing had happened. Remember, the offense has the right to take the result of the play, so it's important to get all calls right. Who knows: maybe after that out at 2B F4 throws one away, after BR had touched 1B, and BR ends up at 3B. In some situations, the offense might take R3 w/ 1 out over R1, R2 w/ 0 out. The ball is live after catcher's OBS, and it matters what happens during that time.
In the OP, if I'm BU I have heard my partner say "that's obstruction!", so I call the out at 2B and wait to see if the defense will turn a double play. At the end of playing action, I call "time!" (if PU hasn't) and let PU make the award: BR to 1B, R1 forced to advance to 2B. In my experience, I sometimes have to explain to R1 (now R2) and/or F6 why he's not out, but that's not an official mechanic.
__________________
Cheers, mb Last edited by mbyron; Tue Mar 18, 2008 at 08:58am. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
| HS Fed - Catcher Obstruction question | CLBuffalo | Baseball | 14 | Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:47pm |
| Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
| tag play at home-catcher in baseline question | nfsx2417 | Baseball | 11 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:26pm |
| Question about catcher interference... | AlabamaBlue | Softball | 3 | Fri Jun 13, 2003 06:01pm |