The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Illegal action by the batter?

Pitcher lets one go wild over the batter's head. Batter turns to avoid it, and his entire foot is on the ground outside the batter's box when the ball hits his bat. Must an intent to hit the ball be present for the batter to be banged out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 10:59pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
was the ball fair or foul? I wouldn't penalize the hitter for a pitch that he was trying to avoid by calling him out. If this happened to me, I have a fair ball or a foul ball...IMO you can't bang a batter out for attempting to get out of the way...I might penalize him for not being smart enough to drop the bat head :-)
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Pitcher lets one go wild over the batter's head. Batter turns to avoid it, and his entire foot is on the ground outside the batter's box when the ball hits his bat. Must an intent to hit the ball be present for the batter to be banged out?
You'd reward a major screw-up by the pitcher?

Just treat it as a batted ball - fair or foul as the case may be.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Pitcher lets one go wild over the batter's head. Batter turns to avoid it, and his entire foot is on the ground outside the batter's box when the ball hits his bat. Must an intent to hit the ball be present for the batter to be banged out?
Generally, yes (and in this specific case, yes). I'm sure someone can come up with a TWP where there's no intent and we still might have an out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
I didn't intend to imply I would call the batter out. However, I would prefer to tell the coach that an intent to hit the ball is required to call the batter out, rather than "[name], you're right - his foot was out of the box, but it didn't touch the ground until just after the ball hit the bat."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I don't know whether this play has ever been discussed on this board, but I've long held it in the back of my mind as one where a good umpire will ignore the letter of the rule. I never posted the question, because I knew how I would call it—fair or foul, not out.

Nowhere in the rule book is "intent" mentioned, but the book cannot be considered all-encompassing. We cannot expect every possible play to fall neatly within the letter of the "law." There are times when we have to ask ourselves, "Is this even remotely what the rules makers had in mind when they wrote the rule?"
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Pitcher lets one go wild over the batter's head. Batter turns to avoid it, and his entire foot is on the ground outside the batter's box when the ball hits his bat. Must an intent to hit the ball be present for the batter to be banged out?
I agree with Bob's answer, but simply ask the question which umpire would be looking to see if a foot is out of the box on a wild pitch over the batter's head. We're going to be watching to see if the ball hits the batter etc.,

Thansk
David
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B
I agree with Bob's answer, but simply ask the question which umpire would be looking to see if a foot is out of the box on a wild pitch over the batter's head. We're going to be watching to see if the ball hits the batter etc.,

Thansk
David
One eye on the ball, the other on the batter's foot. It's an advanced mechanic - simultaneous double monocular tracking. We have a couple of trained lizards teach it at our clinics.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Careful. You might end up like this:

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Marty Feldman - Making the most of Graves Disease! RIP Marty.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
One eye on the ball, the other on the batter's foot. It's an advanced mechanic - simultaneous double monocular tracking. We have a couple of trained lizards teach it at our clinics.
And your third eye on the catcher that is standing up in front of you to catch this pitch.

" Now here's a guy with nothing to do but make up TWP"s"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Could you call him out? Sure, by rule you could.

Should you call him out? Not a chance.

"Sorry coach, I missed that".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:50pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
4 Feet Wide

The box if 4 feet wide. How in the heck can he be out of the box while dodging a pitch. No way I call an out of the box out in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Generally, yes (and in this specific case, yes). I'm sure someone can come up with a TWP where there's no intent and we still might have an out.
Except, Bob, that in this case, unless everybody on the field clearly saw his foot out of the box, I'd simply say, if asked, "What foot? I didn't see his foot out of the box."

Plausible deniability.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAU action Redhouse Basketball 12 Mon Apr 25, 2005 08:25pm
illegal batter scyguy Baseball 6 Tue Mar 29, 2005 09:48pm
Strange - illegal batter or what homerun70 Baseball 2 Wed Oct 06, 2004 08:22pm
"until no further action is possible" David Emerling Baseball 8 Mon Dec 03, 2001 10:31am
Where is the Action? whiskers_ump Softball 2 Tue Aug 14, 2001 09:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1