The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodibuck
Is it legal for a righthanded pitcher's pivot foot be on the pitcher's plate when he throws to 1st base, as long as his non-pivot foot steps directly towards occupied 1st base? Our NFHS instructor said the righthanded pitcher must disengage the pitcher's plate before throwing to occupied 1st base.
You did not specify what position F1 was in. The wind-up or set.

In OBR from the wind-up F1 can pick-off a runner WITHOUT disengaging OBR 8.01(2)

In FED, F1 cannot pick-off a runner from the wind-up WITHOUT disengaging.

If your instructor was talking about F1 in the set position then he is wrong. If F1 was in the Wind-up position then he is correct.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comentators Revisted Revisted Snake~eyes Football 6 Sun Dec 26, 2004 05:06pm
Announcers.... revisted Snake~eyes Football 1 Mon Nov 29, 2004 05:34am
"Line in the Sand" revisted under FED Patrick Szalapski Baseball 13 Mon May 03, 2004 02:58pm
NFHS Balk collinb Baseball 4 Fri Jun 27, 2003 05:19am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1