The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 2.40 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 12:37am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to fitump56 Send a message via MSN to fitump56 Send a message via Yahoo to fitump56 Send a message via Skype™ to fitump56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
We will duly note that you do not like Tim McCarver.
Feel better?
Actually, I like T-Mac. On the field. All those Catholc boys were hard-nosed mothers. Off the field?

Ask Interested Ump about that one. He married T-Macs HS sweetheart.
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 28, 2007, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitump56

Ask Interested Ump about that one. He married T-Macs HS sweetheart.
This begs the question if she was one of those you referred to in your earlier post (#4) above.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2007, 03:50am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to fitump56 Send a message via MSN to fitump56 Send a message via Yahoo to fitump56 Send a message via Skype™ to fitump56
Originally Posted by fitump56

Ask Interested Ump about that one. He married T-Macs HS sweetheart.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire
This begs the question if she was one of those you referred to in your earlier post (#4) above.
McCarver banged CBHS cheerleaders girls who were from Catholc HS Immaculate Conception, Sacred Heart and St. Agnes. No girls allowed at The Brothers.

Knowing Laura, she was Episcopalian and not a cheerleader, for 40 plus years, she was and is a class act. Which is why leaving McCarver was a no-brainer.

T-Mac rebounded and married Annie in, oh, mid 60s?
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2007, 06:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire
This begs the question if she was one of those you referred to in your earlier post (#4) above.
To beg the question does not mean "to raise the question."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Tim just said that Laz Diaz' call was a good call since Lugo was out of the batter's box when the bunted ball hit him. Lugo's front foot had yet to touch the ground when the ball bounced off his leg. He should have called it foul, but he called Lugo out for getting hit out of the box. Bad call.
Except that Diaz was right.
Therefore, making McCarver right.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 04:31am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Except that Diaz was right.
Therefore, making McCarver right.
How do you figure he was right? He was still in the box when the ball contacted him, making it a foul ball. You must have at least on the ground outside of the box when contact is made with the body to be an out.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 07:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
How do you figure he was right? He was still in the box when the ball contacted him, making it a foul ball. You must have at least on the ground outside of the box when contact is made with the body to be an out.
Because he moved into the ball and was hit in fair territory.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 07:49am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Because he moved into the ball and was hit in fair territory.
In the batter's box, or are you too thick to catch that important piece of information?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
How do you figure he was right? He was still in the box when the ball contacted him, making it a foul ball. You must have at least on the ground outside of the box when contact is made with the body to be an out.
You are confusing two different rules. To be guilty of an "illegally batted ball," you must have at least one foot on the ground completely outside of the batter's box when the bat contacts the ball. However, this is not a case of the batter hitting the ball while out of the box. This is case of the batted ball hitting the batter while out of the box. Where the batter's feet are is irrelavent when contact is made with the ball. If the contact is outside of the box then the batter is out for interference.

Last edited by Richard_Siegel; Fri Oct 26, 2007 at 08:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Richard is correct. If a fair batted ball makes contact with that part of a batter outside of the batter's box, he is out, dead ball, etc. etc. If said contact occurs against that part of a batter still inside the box, the official interp. is that it's simply a foul ball, even if it occurs in that small portion of the box that is technically in fair territory.

Now, here's today's trivia question: What percentage of the box is in fair territory? (Disclaimer: Chris Jaksa went into a fun geometric discussion of this in umpire school lo those many Moons ago.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
Now, here's today's trivia question: What percentage of the box is in fair territory?
A batter's box is 48" by 72" which is an area of 3,456 sq. in. Home plate is 6 inches from the edge of the box. The edge of the foul ine that determines the terminus of fair territory cuts a 45° angle across the box. The foul line cuts off a equilateral triangle from the corner of the box where each leg is 30" long. Doing the math, the area of that small triangle is 450 sq. in. The ratio of the "fair" part of the batter's box would be 450/3456 which gives us a percentage of 13.02% of the batter's box is in fair territory.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 12:08am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to fitump56 Send a message via MSN to fitump56 Send a message via Yahoo to fitump56 Send a message via Skype™ to fitump56
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
n What percentage of the box is in fair territory? (Disclaimer: Chris Jaksa went into a fun geometric discussion of this in umpire school lo those many Moons ago.)
Depends on who lines the boxes. lol
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
This one comes up from time-to-time and the play in question is being kicked around on several forums.

We have rules that clearly define when a batter is considered "in the box" prior to a pitch.

There are rules covering a batter being "in the box" when contacting a pitch with the bat.

But there isn't a rule that specifically defines what constitutes being "in the box" for a batter being contacted by his own batted ball.

A batter being contacted by his own batted ball while still being "in the box" is regarded as a foul ball- and he could be anywhere "in the box", despite McCarver's attempt to delineate a "fair" and "foul" portion of the box, which really doesn't apply on this play.

So what interpretation covers this? If the batter still has one foot in the box is he still regarded as being "in the box"? Does he need to have both feet in the box? Are the feet disregarded and the contact judged by any portion of the batter's body extending out beyond the boundary lines of the batter's box?

I'm guessing this is one of those interpretations covered by the professional umpire's manual- the one that I don't have any access to!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
I think you're reading into it a bit too much. The ruling is what I mentioned in my preceding post: if the ball contacts that part of his body that is outside the box and in fair territory, he's out on the dead ball; otherwise, it's a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan
This one comes up from time-to-time and the play in question is being kicked around on several forums.

We have rules that clearly define when a batter is considered "in the box" prior to a pitch.

There are rules covering a batter being "in the box" when contacting a pitch with the bat.

But there isn't a rule that specifically defines what constitutes being "in the box" for a batter being contacted by his own batted ball.

A batter being contacted by his own batted ball while still being "in the box" is regarded as a foul ball- and he could be anywhere "in the box", despite McCarver's attempt to delineate a "fair" and "foul" portion of the box, which really doesn't apply on this play.

So what interpretation covers this? If the batter still has one foot in the box is he still regarded as being "in the box"? Does he need to have both feet in the box? Are the feet disregarded and the contact judged by any portion of the batter's body extending out beyond the boundary lines of the batter's box?

I'm guessing this is one of those interpretations covered by the professional umpire's manual- the one that I don't have any access to!
Forget the box.

Take a runner coming down the third base line who gets hit by a batted ball. What determines if he is out or not...the position of one foot, or the position of the ball and body part when he is hit?

I don't have access to additional replays this morning, but as I remember the event at the time, contact was made in front of the plate, not in the "fair" portion of the batter's box.
__________________
GB

Last edited by GarthB; Fri Oct 26, 2007 at 10:21am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good call ref Tweet Basketball 2 Sun Jan 14, 2007 03:45am
OBS Call - Good Bad Maybe? wadeintothem Softball 8 Tue Feb 07, 2006 01:29pm
Good call? BigUmpJohn Softball 21 Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:23am
Good idea....or too intrusive? Danvrapp Basketball 14 Wed Sep 05, 2001 09:52pm
Good teamwork or bad call? Rookie Basketball 6 Tue Jan 23, 2001 11:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1