![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Could he have been called out for running outside of the lane also? both of his feet stayed inside (fair side) of the foul line the whole way down.
Just my two cents.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
CajunNewBlue,
No, he could not have been called out on this play for running "outside the lane". In order for the BR to be called out under the rule, he must both be outside the lane AND interfere with the fielder's opportunity to catch the throw at 1B. If you don't have both conditions, there is no out to be had under the rule. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Unofficially the rule gives the defense an idea of where the runner should be, so they know where to throw the ball. When the runner is outside of that area,(lane) then they are declared out for interference. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
thanks for the explanation.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
[quote=jicecone] . . .a lane violation only comes into play when the throw is coming from behind the runner.
Usually, but not only. OBR 6.05 says "A batter is out when - . . . (k) In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base, while the ball is being fielded to first base, he runs outside (to the right of) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of) the foul line, and in the umpire’s judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base . . .. Comment: . . . The batter-runner is permitted to exit the three-foot lane by means of a step, stride, reach or slide in the immediate vicinity of first base for the sole purpose of touching first base." Nothing in the rule requires the throw to come from behind the BR. So, a shallow charging F8 snags a screaming one-hopper and fires to first a throw somewhat to the home plate side of the bag. BR runs well fair the entire way to first. F3, with one foot on first, stretches towards home plate to catch the throw, but BR, before reaching first, unintentionally interferes with the catch. Out. Could happen. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Paul L]
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
paul,
the throw, by interpretation, has to come from a "magic box" that is basically between the plate and the pitcher's mound. Others on here probably know roughly the dimentions of the box and can give you a more accurate description |
|
|||
|
I seem to recall that a former poster here, Bfair, once got an interp from one of the recognized authorities that the throw DID NOT need to come from the "box" or "home plate" area.
As a practical matter, though, it will come from this area 99.9% of the time. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Feeling better now. | Rita C | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 21, 2007 09:46am |
| feeling good after the game? | ctpfive | Basketball | 8 | Sat Feb 11, 2006 05:04pm |
| Feeling Better Now | Hartsy | Basketball | 0 | Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:22am |
| Feeling Bad | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jan 13, 2003 01:45pm |
| OH WHAT A FEELING! | eventnyc | Basketball | 1 | Thu Dec 19, 2002 09:00pm |