The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2007, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
If F6 has the ball, or is about to get the ball at the time F5 obstructs and I go to the trouble of calling it, I think I would protect R2 back to 3rd no matter. .....You knew when you called OBS R2 wasn't scoring, now you weren't even going to protect him back to 3rd. What was the point?
Don,

Rule 7.06(b) Comment: "Under 7.06(b) when the ball is not dead on obstruction and an obstructed runner advances beyond the base which, in the umpire’s judgment, he would have been awarded because of being obstructed, he does so at his own peril and may be tagged out. This is a judgment call."

The decision was made to protect him to 3rd. He rounded third. Where is his protection back to 3rd?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost of Coach's Box Airborne! Basketball 8 Mon Jan 30, 2006 08:15pm
Coach's Tip-Off parepat Football 4 Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:30pm
Coach's Box Barry C. Morris Basketball 14 Thu Sep 13, 2001 03:32pm
Coach's BS oppool Softball 4 Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1