The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 62
Runner hit by batted ball

Here's a situation that occurred last night in a Dixie tourney game.
Bases loaded, one out. Batter hits a grounder that strikes R1. 1B was playing behind the runner, and it would have been an easy play for 1B. U1 immediately signals the runner out and calls the play dead. That much everyone agreed on. The question arose about what to do with the other runners -
1.) BR takes over at first, the other runners remain at their bases.
or
2.) BR at first, R2 to third, R3 scores.

The Dixie rule reads:
The ball is dead and no runners may score, no runners advance, except those forced to advance.

That last part is what is confusing. Does the interference by R1 take off the force?

We used the second choice, allowing the run to score, and the head umpire later said we did the right thing, but I'm not so sure now thinking about it.

What is right?

Also, U3 stated the play should have been live. The Dixie rule clearly states that is not true. Is there any rule set that allows the play to continue when a runner is out for interference?

Just a former coach who is now learning to umpire (no clinics yet, will do some in prep for school ball next year.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 91
Not a comment on the situation, but I work Dixie from time to time in NC and would be curious where your tournament was located?

Thanks,

Lawrence
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
as soon as the ball hit R1, its a dead ball.
BR -> 1stbase, any other runners back to top base, exeot the're forced to move up.
if you would have runners on 1st and 2nd and R2 got hit, you should award BR 1stbase and send to 2ndbase cause he was forced to move one base up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence.Dorsey
Not a comment on the situation, but I work Dixie from time to time in NC and would be curious where your tournament was located?

Thanks,

Lawrence
It was in Fayetteville
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelcoach
Here's a situation that occurred last night in a Dixie tourney game.
Bases loaded, one out. Batter hits a grounder that strikes R1. 1B was playing behind the runner, and it would have been an easy play for 1B. U1 immediately signals the runner out and calls the play dead. That much everyone agreed on. The question arose about what to do with the other runners -
1.) BR takes over at first, the other runners remain at their bases.
or
2.) BR at first, R2 to third, R3 scores.

The Dixie rule reads:
The ball is dead and no runners may score, no runners advance, except those forced to advance.

That last part is what is confusing. Does the interference by R1 take off the force?

We used the second choice, allowing the run to score, and the head umpire later said we did the right thing, but I'm not so sure now thinking about it.

What is right?

Also, U3 stated the play should have been live. The Dixie rule clearly states that is not true. Is there any rule set that allows the play to continue when a runner is out for interference?

Just a former coach who is now learning to umpire (no clinics yet, will do some in prep for school ball next year.)
The offense cannot profit from its own mistake. Consider the same situation in the bottom of the 9th in a tied game. Under the interpretation used in your post the team committing intereference would win the game on that play.

When r1 was by hit by the ball, he was out and the ball dead. With no runner on first r2 and r3 are not forced. The league rule says "no runner advances, unless forced." There is no force.

This is not a complicated play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
The league rule says "no runner advances, unless forced." There is no force.

This is not a complicated play.
Despitee the OP's assertion, this is not a "league rule". It's standard OBR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner gets hit by a batted ball Zoochy Softball 15 Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:40pm
Runner hit by batted ball / need help rbmartin Baseball 1 Thu May 10, 2007 05:49pm
Runner hit by batted ball... ElPanadero Baseball 5 Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:54am
Runner hit by batted ball... Alameda Softball 4 Wed Apr 13, 2005 04:13pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1