The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 06:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
2B - 7.04(c)
Right, by rule we award one base from his last, and since he's rounded 2B, that's 3B.

BUT, he must retouch on the caught fly, or he's liable to be out on appeal.

AND, once he retouches, the award is one base from 1B, that's 2B.

IIRC, enforcement changed recently for situations like this. But any way you do it, it appears you help somebody.

"You, go retouch, and then go to 2B!" -- You've helped the offense.

"You, 3B!" OR "You, 2B!" -- You've made it seem as if he does NOT need to retouch, which helps the defense if they know to appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
When awarding bases, it is up to the runner (or his coach) to know he must retouch a base left too soon. I would never tell a runner to retouch. Simply say "You, 2nd base". If he fails to retouch 1st Base, he would be out on appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrumpiresir
When awarding bases, it is up to the runner (or his coach) to know he must retouch a base left too soon. I would never tell a runner to retouch. Simply say "You, 2nd base". If he fails to retouch 1st Base, he would be out on appeal.
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
Second base was never legally obtained,by rule.

If the coach does not know the rules that is his problem.

The ball is dead on the player going into the stands. Runners are entitled to move up one base.

If R1 fails to retouch first and is appealed he is out.

Then you can explain the rule to the coach, or invite him to the next rules interpretation clinic.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 10:27am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Second base was never legally obtained,by rule.

If the coach does not know the rules that is his problem.

The ball is dead on the player going into the stands. Runners are entitled to move up one base.

If R1 fails to retouch first and is appealed he is out.

Then you can explain the rule to the coach, or invite him to the next rules interpretation clinic.
He runs the bases properly and the defense appeals, the runner is out. He was past second when the ball went dead.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
He was past second when the ball went dead

His last legally obtained base was first base since the ball was caught on the fly. If he stays on second without retouching ihe s in jeopardy of being called out on an appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
He runs the bases properly and the defense appeals, the runner is out. He was past second when the ball went dead.
That's only in FED. In NCAA and OBR the runner is allowed to retouch.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 12:24pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's only in FED. In NCAA and OBR the runner is allowed to retouch.
You're right. I was thinking I read that when I posted Rule 7.10. Seems only the missed base applies.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
So just say "Yes."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.

He's rounded 2nd, the award is 3rd. Not my problem if he doens't fulfill his obligation to re-touch (before he touches 3rd). I,m not out there too second guess if the D is gonna appeal, nor am I guessing the O isn't trying to steal one. Award the base and rule on the result/s.

Once everyone see's the out call on the catch, their supposed to know what to do, retouch, if less than two outs.

Would a runner fail to retouch if he was scrambling back to 1st to do so, when the ball went past the F3 and OOP, probably not. Even if you called "time" and awarded 3rd before, he had re-touched. Might confuse em, but only once, I'm sure.

They should also know the runner can retouch on a dead ball, as long as he hasn't touched the next base, after the ball is dead.

And if he does touch the next base and still goes back and retouches, I sure ain't stopping him there either, that's the defenses job to know he can't, and to make a proper appeal.

Not
Ump: "whoa there base runner where you going"?
BR: "Ah, back to re-touch sir".
Ump: "No you can't, because you've already touched the next base after the call of time on a DB".

Or
Ump: "You second".
BR: "But sir, that's a one base award, I already touched 2nd".
Ump: "I know, but you left early and have to retouch, so I can only make you go backwards, to the base you already touched, cause if I let you keep going, you'll still be subject to appeal at 1st.

Just none of our business IMO. Make your award and rule on any developments.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:57pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.

He's rounded 2nd, the award is 3rd.
The award is 2B, after he retouches 1B. "YOU, second base" is the award. If he goes there and stands without going back to 1B to retouch I wait for the appeal, after the ball is made live mind you. Until it is made live he can go back to 1B and if he or his coaching staff is on the ball he will. If he goes there touches 2B, returns to 1B and then goes back to 2B I have a legal award and bases touched properly.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
You're killing it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.
Why kill it? If anything, the only proper award to make is 2B. If ump sends R1 to 3B, something bad may happen as soon as R1 begins to follow ump's directions. If R1 touches 3rd, he also loses the opportunity to retouch 1B.

Stay away from "Time, you on 3B, go back to 2B." or "Time, you on 2B, stay at 2B."

I would signal the out on the catch and keep quiet. The base coaches better instruct R1 to 1B because there are not many baserunning options open for them. I would signal the 2nd out upon proper appeal at 1B or for a tag.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
SAump:

Would you endorse not saying anything other than "catch" until the runner retouches 1st, then award 2nd? A bit of preventive umpiring by not saying anything?

Or is that too much prodding and allowing the runner a way to get back to first even if he's stupid (and his coaches).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Sticky ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
SAump:
Would you endorse not saying anything other than "catch" until the runner retouches 1st, then award 2nd? A bit of preventive umpiring by not saying anything?
Or is that too much prodding and allowing the runner a way to get back to first even if he's stupid (and his coaches).
Be careful with the type of appeal, either for placement or for re-touch. Not saying anything until an appeal is made for the proper placement of R1 to go back to 2B or 1B. I would grant the placement appeal back to 2B, but not 1B during the dead ball situation. Then I would wait for a live ball and/or first pitch to determine whether R1 is out or has stolen either 2B or both 2B and 3B. Teams also have a responsibility to know the situation.

LL Myth 17. The runner gets the base he's going to, plus one on a ball (carried or) thrown out-of-play.

Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 03, 2007 at 12:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747

Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.


That is just moronic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
No tag after catch ozzy6900 Baseball 3 Mon Oct 04, 2004 08:27am
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
Catch or No Catch? soonerfan Baseball 8 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:37pm
NEW CATCH NO CATCH soonerfan Baseball 2 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1