The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
What If

R1, batter hits a long drive. R1 is off and running and has rounded second base when F8 leaps and catches the ball before he falls over the outfield fence.

Place the runner.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Assuming that fewer than 2 were out before the play, R1 to third, but he must retouch.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 10:11pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Assuming that fewer than 2 were out before the play, R1 to third, but he must retouch.
Cite a rule please, because I don't agree.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 01:58am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to fitump56 Send a message via MSN to fitump56 Send a message via Yahoo to fitump56 Send a message via Skype™ to fitump56
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
Cite a rule please, because I don't agree.
Cite the rule that you feel applies.
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Assuming that fewer than 2 were out before the play, R1 to third, but he must retouch.

2B - 7.04(c)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
2B - 7.04(c)
No way.

The runner must return to first on a caught fly ball.

First base is the last legally touched base in this situation.

He is awarded second base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
No way.

The runner must return to first on a caught fly ball.

First base is the last legally touched base in this situation.

He is awarded second base.
Rich Ives,consider this.

With less than two outs and r1 off on the pitch the batter hits a long fly that the outfielder makes a great catch but does NOT go out play.

R1 halfwayto third has to beat a hasty retreat to first and beats the throw but the bal lis booted by the first baseman and goes into the dugout.

R1 would be awarded third base on the overthrow: two bases from the last base legally touched.

Under your previous interpretation he would have been awarded home, which makes no sense.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2007, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
My apologies to Rich Ives.

It was mbyron who got the awarded bases wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 06:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
2B - 7.04(c)
Right, by rule we award one base from his last, and since he's rounded 2B, that's 3B.

BUT, he must retouch on the caught fly, or he's liable to be out on appeal.

AND, once he retouches, the award is one base from 1B, that's 2B.

IIRC, enforcement changed recently for situations like this. But any way you do it, it appears you help somebody.

"You, go retouch, and then go to 2B!" -- You've helped the offense.

"You, 3B!" OR "You, 2B!" -- You've made it seem as if he does NOT need to retouch, which helps the defense if they know to appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
When awarding bases, it is up to the runner (or his coach) to know he must retouch a base left too soon. I would never tell a runner to retouch. Simply say "You, 2nd base". If he fails to retouch 1st Base, he would be out on appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrumpiresir
When awarding bases, it is up to the runner (or his coach) to know he must retouch a base left too soon. I would never tell a runner to retouch. Simply say "You, 2nd base". If he fails to retouch 1st Base, he would be out on appeal.
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
Second base was never legally obtained,by rule.

If the coach does not know the rules that is his problem.

The ball is dead on the player going into the stands. Runners are entitled to move up one base.

If R1 fails to retouch first and is appealed he is out.

Then you can explain the rule to the coach, or invite him to the next rules interpretation clinic.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
So just say "Yes."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"

If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.

He's rounded 2nd, the award is 3rd. Not my problem if he doens't fulfill his obligation to re-touch (before he touches 3rd). I,m not out there too second guess if the D is gonna appeal, nor am I guessing the O isn't trying to steal one. Award the base and rule on the result/s.

Once everyone see's the out call on the catch, their supposed to know what to do, retouch, if less than two outs.

Would a runner fail to retouch if he was scrambling back to 1st to do so, when the ball went past the F3 and OOP, probably not. Even if you called "time" and awarded 3rd before, he had re-touched. Might confuse em, but only once, I'm sure.

They should also know the runner can retouch on a dead ball, as long as he hasn't touched the next base, after the ball is dead.

And if he does touch the next base and still goes back and retouches, I sure ain't stopping him there either, that's the defenses job to know he can't, and to make a proper appeal.

Not
Ump: "whoa there base runner where you going"?
BR: "Ah, back to re-touch sir".
Ump: "No you can't, because you've already touched the next base after the call of time on a DB".

Or
Ump: "You second".
BR: "But sir, that's a one base award, I already touched 2nd".
Ump: "I know, but you left early and have to retouch, so I can only make you go backwards, to the base you already touched, cause if I let you keep going, you'll still be subject to appeal at 1st.

Just none of our business IMO. Make your award and rule on any developments.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
No tag after catch ozzy6900 Baseball 3 Mon Oct 04, 2004 08:27am
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
Catch or No Catch? soonerfan Baseball 8 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:37pm
NEW CATCH NO CATCH soonerfan Baseball 2 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1