The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Why can't #5 pitch the next inning?

The exact play (well, they didn't use numbers 5 and 25), was in the FED 2005 interps. It's legal.
Bob,

I didn't have my rules with me and I'm sorry if I misspoke.
I thought that if F1 came out of the game he could not reenter as F1.
Is that only if he is removed while on defense as opposed to this sitch where another F1 has not pitched?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
Bob,

I didn't have my rules with me and I'm sorry if I misspoke.
I thought that if F1 came out of the game he could not reenter as F1.
Is that only if he is removed while on defense as opposed to this sitch where another F1 has not pitched?
The only way F1 cannot return to F1 is if he's removed from the mound for excessive visits, if the reliever requires more than 8 warmups, he doesn't face one batter (or the side is retired), or he's left the game and doesn't have reentry priveleges. (and, in some statess, if it would violate the innings pitched rules).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The only way F1 cannot return to F1 is if he's removed from the mound for excessive visits, if the reliever requires more than 8 warmups, he doesn't face one batter (or the side is retired), or he's left the game and doesn't have reentry priveleges. (and, in some statess, if it would violate the innings pitched rules).
Sorry I stepped on you.

I'm totally off the mark then.
Let me get this straight

If on his first visit the coach removes F1(#5) from the game in the first inning, does not switch positions, but removes from the game, he can then reenter #5 in the 5th inning as F1? (as long as any of the above exceptions were not met.)

I'm glad I wasn't faced with that because I would have screwed it up.
For some reason I thought that once F1 left the game he could not re enter as F1 and the exceptions were only if F1(#5) stayed in the game and later wanted to move back to F1 position.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
If on his first visit the coach removes F1(#5) from the game in the first inning, does not switch positions, but removes from the game, he can then reenter #5 in the 5th inning as F1? (as long as any of the above exceptions were not met.)
Yes.

Quote:
I'm glad I wasn't faced with that because I would have screwed it up.
For some reason I thought that once F1 left the game he could not re enter as F1 and the exceptions were only if F1(#5) stayed in the game and later wanted to move back to F1 position.
Maybe OH has a state adoption rule to this effect, but it's not the FED rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Maybe OH has a state adoption rule to this effect, but it's not the FED rule.
Ohio has no such rule AFAIK.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
I'm looking at the 2006 BRD, section 467, where it states in notes, "Since projected substitutions are not allowed, a coach may not, for example, pinch hit for his catcher and then, if he gets on base, send out a courtesy runner for the pinch hitter". How does this differ with the pitcher vs. catcher?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 07:02pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
I'm looking at the 2006 BRD, section 467, where it states in notes, "Since projected substitutions are not allowed, a coach may not, for example, pinch hit for his catcher and then, if he gets on base, send out a courtesy runner for the pinch hitter". How does this differ with the pitcher vs. catcher?
Because he re-entered the pitcher/catcher before he sent the courtesy runner in.

Coach pinch hits for pitcher who gets on base via a single.

Coach: "Time re-enter my pitcher for the pinch hitter who is on first. (pitcher goes stands on first) Now I want to put my courtesy runner in for my pitcher".

This is not considered a projected substitution.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH Re-entry upscout2000 Baseball 1 Sun Apr 08, 2007 02:33pm
Illegal re-entry Larks Softball 4 Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:07am
DH Re-entry JL87 Baseball 8 Wed Mar 19, 2003 12:30pm
DH Re-entry harmbu Baseball 3 Tue Apr 30, 2002 02:34pm
DH re-entry PAblue87 Baseball 7 Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1