Quote:
Originally Posted by coach2535
This happened in a game I was watching. 10 year olds USSSA. Baserunner on 2nd base. Pitcher begins his pitch from a full windup, runner recognizes this and steals (occupies) third before the pitcher releases the ball toward home. Batter then hits linedrive to F6 who tosses to F4. Umpire calls batter out, and runner out. My question is, did the runner establish 3rd base, and was he entitled to the bag without fear of bring doubled off.
|
No. By your description, the last base the runner occupied at time of pitch was second base. Time of pitch would be the time that the pitcher was committed to pitching the ball, which in a full windup would be when he stepped back with his non pivot foot.