![]() |
double play..or not
This happened in a game I was watching. 10 year olds USSSA. Baserunner on 2nd base. Pitcher begins his pitch from a full windup, runner recognizes this and steals (occupies) third before the pitcher releases the ball toward home. Batter then hits linedrive to F6 who tosses to F4. Umpire calls batter out, and runner out. My question is, did the runner establish 3rd base, and was he entitled to the bag without fear of bring doubled off.
|
Quote:
|
It's a DP. The time of the pitch in a windup begins when a pitcher starts his usual legal movements in the process of pitching and not when the pitcher releases the ball. In layman's terms, it generally begins when he steps back with his nonpivot foot in his normal pitching process with his hands going up. Because R2 was still considered occupying second, he's out on the DP.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
BALKS In age divisions 10 and below, pitchers will be allowed some leniency in regard to balks. Pitchers will be called for all major violations and warned for minor violations that do not affect the outcome of a play. In all other divisions, balks will be strictly enforced without warning. http://usssabaseball.org/Forms/2003-...ll%20Rules.pdf |
Quote:
was so high, he was able to circle the bases completely before the ball came down. |
Yeah, and Barry Bonds is so quick with the needle nobody has ever seen him take steroids too.......
|
Quote:
That's cold, but probably very true. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am. |