Quote:
Originally Posted by coach2535
This happened in a game I was watching. 10 year olds USSSA. Baserunner on 2nd base. Pitcher begins his pitch from a full windup, runner recognizes this and steals (occupies) third before the pitcher releases the ball toward home. Batter then hits linedrive to F6 who tosses to F4. Umpire calls batter out, and runner out. My question is, did the runner establish 3rd base, and was he entitled to the bag without fear of bring doubled off.
|
He's out. It's the time of the pitch (which starts when the delivery starts) that matters here.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
|