The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
I've lost the passion...

Hey ya'll. As some of you know, I'm a 20 year old college student that calls ball during the summer, and a bit while at school on weekends. I also work for the intramural program at school as an official. I've been calling ball for 7 years, 3 as a member of our local association.

I got home two days ago, and called my second game tonight. Yesterday was better, I was on the bases. Today I had the plate. It was only 1:45 minutes, but it seemed like forever. A couple of times I forgot to reset my indicator, forgot to brush off the plate before an inning. My mechanics were soft as well, and I didn't feel not confident or confident. I just felt that I was there and nothing more.

I'm not sure what is really causing this, my thoughts lately have been clouded during the day and I feel my brain isn't really firing on all cylinders. The baseball diamond has always been a sort of shelter for me in my world. Now I don't really feel that way anymore.

I'm not looking forward to my game tomorrow. And I've never thought that. But what am I going to do? I am a college student who doesn't have a job this summer, and has no interest in working in retail or waiting tables. I need money, and have no other way to get enough of it. So taking a couple weeks off isn't really an option.

Even if you don't have a response, thanks for letting me vent and express my feelings.

Does anyone think this is normal, or have suggestions? Been through this before?

Thanks.

Tuss.
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 07:39pm
Archaic Power Monger