![]() |
|
|
|||
Did you only do FED during the brief but ill-fated "Accidental Appeal" period?
Yes. Actually, a more precise term might be "accidental force" (or, for purists, "accidental force or before-the-BR-reaches 1B" period). I'm glad Fed dumped that rule. It was an odd exception to OBR. The J/R explanation simply reinforces what had long been practice in OBR. In MLB, the play does not occur often, but if you watch enough games, you'll see it. Most people who frequent this board have seen MLB players beat the throw but miss 1B, and they are routinely called safe until the appeal, which incidentally has to be a tag as long as the runner has simply overrun. In a Phillies' game a few years ago, the BR beat the throw but stepped over the bag and overran several yards. F3 had left the bag after he caught the throw, but he then quickly returned to step on 1B and hold the ball up for the umpire to see. Seemed like an appeal to me. No call. Then he ran and tagged the returning runner. Out.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
If the runner had already returned to first however, would they have called him safe?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!" |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I'm getting this from the FED book, (yes the only ball I call...sorry I'm such an amateur) 8-4-2i "Any runner is out when he...does not retouch his base before a fielder tags him or holds the ball while touching such base after any situation (8-2-1 an advancing runner shall touch first, second, third and then home plate in order...)" It would seem that if R1 missed first base, he would be out as soon as the fielder held the ball touching first base. The book goes on to give what appears to be another option: "Umpire may also call him out at the end of playing action upon proper and successful appeal." Maybe its just the way I'm reading this but it seems that according to the FED book, you can do either - call him out when the ball is held at the bag, or you wait for the appeal? But if you wait for the appeal R1 would already be on the bag. Maybe I'm just retarded and can't get this! ![]()
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!" |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Tell me, what would you do if a runner passed but missed second base? Wait for an appeal...correct? First is no different in that regard. Quote:
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Tue May 15, 2007 at 10:36am. |
|
|||
blueump, possibly there's some confusion because in OBR, a fielder cannot make an immediate appeal by simply tagging the base and appealing to the umpire, despite a literal wording of the book. As long as the runner is "in the vicinity" of the base (I'm not sure if there are any other criteria), he has to be tagged. Thus, in the MLB play, the umpire did not acknowledge the appeal until the runner was tagged. Had the runner been advancing toward 2B, the defense could simply have tagged 1B.
Other codes (eg, Fed) may be different in this regard. In ASA softball, for example, an immediate appeal is recognized (and in certain situations that could make a difference as to whether a run scores).
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Base or Nothing? | mrm21711 | Baseball | 1 | Sun May 01, 2005 09:56pm |
OBS and missed base | WhoMe? | Softball | 6 | Wed Jul 28, 2004 03:39pm |
FED - Missed base | PeteBooth | Baseball | 2 | Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm |
Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |