The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Hello,

I hope I dont bother you too much with questions - Last night in our scrimmage ( not game )16U ASA Fastpitch, I counted three times that the catcher received the pitch and threw to 3rd base. Each time while the batter was trying to back out of the box the catcher was brushing against them, not running into the per se, just brushing against. I wasn't sure if the batter wasn't getting out of the box quickly enough or what she could have done to not interfere in this situation. If a game were being played what would the call or what is the batters obligation in this situation ?


Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
In most cases I am thinking a batter "backing" up is getting out of the way, and the brushing is Okay
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
Best thing for the batter to do is to stay put in the batters box, unless there is a play at home...

I'd have to see the play, but in your case, I may have batter interference...depends on what it looked like to me...and was the batter out of the box when the "brushing" happened...or did I feel there was any intention by the batter to get in the catchers way...like the old swing through the pitch and step across the plate with a runner from first base stealing second...that's not intentional is it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,564
Quote:
Originally posted by HardtailStrat
Hello,

I hope I dont bother you too much with questions - Last night in our scrimmage ( not game )16U ASA Fastpitch, I counted three times that the catcher received the pitch and threw to 3rd base. Each time while the batter was trying to back out of the box the catcher was brushing against them, not running into the per se, just brushing against. I wasn't sure if the batter wasn't getting out of the box quickly enough or what she could have done to not interfere in this situation. If a game were being played what would the call or what is the batters obligation in this situation ?


Thank you
Catcher needs to be taught to work around the batter. In turn, batters need to be taught to NOT move and stay within the box.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Thank you for your replies.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
orange-

That's correct. But If the batter just stands there, it's then the catcher's responsibility to avoid the batter. As long as she has remained in the box, I'm going to need intent to rule interference on her. The way I normally call these:

In the box: Intent needed
Backing out: No intent needed

Play at the plate completely different story, batter must vacate plate area and not interfere witht the play.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,564
Re: RE: this question

Quote:
Originally posted by orangeump
you say stay within the box, but that doesnt automatically mean that the batter has not interfered.
No. Even if the batter stays in the box, any movement while the catcher is making a throw that may interfere with that throw may be construed as intentional.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
Re: Re: RE: this question

Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by orangeump
you say stay within the box, but that doesnt automatically mean that the batter has not interfered.
No. Even if the batter stays in the box, any movement while the catcher is making a throw that may interfere with that throw may be construed as intentional.
One of the rulebooks (ASA/FED/NCAA) says repositioning in the batters box may be construed as interference/intential. Don't have them in front of me now so I can't remember which one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1