![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
Had this situation in a C-team game the other night. R1, batter attempts bunt, ball strikes in front of plate, comes straight up and hits batter-runner as he's leaving the box. I immediately call foul ball. Head coach of defensive team comes out to challenge the call. I immediately give him the stop sign to wait as I feel that I need to ask for help from my partner help. I ask my partner and he tells me that the batter was half in-half out of the batters box. With this information, I change my call to batter-runner out. Now I have the other head coach coming out, I tell him that the batter was hit out of the box and says that there is no way my partner can help with this call because of his location. "B" position. After the half inning, his assistant, who claims to also be an umpire where he lives, claims that there is a little rule that states that as long as the batter still has one foot in the batters box, he is considered to still be in foul territory, making it a foul ball. I don't agree with that, couldn't find it in the Fed. rule book. Just looking for some insight from y'all. Thanks.
|
|
|||
You can really save yourself a lot of grief by calling foul ball. If the batter is partly in the box just call foul. Unless you are ABSOLUTELY sure he is out of the box, then call him out. As far as my partner, I tell him during pregame if you see it hit him and are sure come up yelling foul.
|
|
|||
Quote:
SECTION 2 STRIKES, BALLS AND HITS ART. 1... A strike is charged to the batter when: f. a batted ball contacts the batter in the batter's box (foul ball). |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Part of the front corner of each box is in fair territory so if he is struck in the box it is foul, even if the ball was in that front corner in fair territory. If he is struck by a batted ball that is in front of the plate and either foot is on the ground outside the box as it would likely be if he is trying to run to 1B and I have an out. If he inadvertently kicks a fair ball in front of the plate while coming out of the box I have an out. Contact was made with a fair ball while not in the box. If he had one foot out of the box on the ground when he bunted the ball he would be out so I don't see why he wouldn't be out if contact is made with a fair ball that is in front of the plate with one foot in and one foot out.
Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 05, 2007 at 06:54am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
I believe that Wayne was mistaking the bunted ball coming up and hitting the batter while one foot was out of the box, with hitting the ball with one foot outside the box, which would be an out if it was obvious enough to call. It is the only explanation that makes any sense other than he just didn't know the rule.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter steps over plate trying to bunt | snailpace | Baseball | 11 | Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:17am |
Batter hit by bunt | blueump | Softball | 13 | Thu May 19, 2005 03:30pm |
ball hits batter | cards2323 | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am |
3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box | chuck chopper | Softball | 8 | Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am |
batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |