![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Playing action was not over (ie runners advancing) so you do not call TIME. The umpire will say "that's a balk" and allow play to proceed. In reality 99 times out of 100 when the umpire Yells "that's a balk" , play stops anyhow and you simply enforce but let's stick with the thread. It's the same as any other delayed situation meaning you do not call TIME until playing action is over. When is playing action over? Answer: When runners are stationary and the ball is at or near the pitchers mound. In the situation described, you call TIME after R2 is played on. When playing action is over you now call TIME and enforce the balk. R3 advanced, R2 advanced (one base) but he decided on his own to go further. Conclusion: R3's run counts R2 is the third out. R2 does not get carte blanche simply because a balk was called. FED is a different story. In FED as soon as F1 commits a balk the call is TIME that's a balk and we simply enforce. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Be an official donator of Friends of the Rotterdam Basketbalclass | fonsmm | Basketball | 14 | Mon Jun 10, 2013 09:47am |
Hello to all my Ump Friends! | Elaine "Lady Blue" | Softball | 11 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:18pm |
More news from our FEEBLE friends in France | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 1 | Fri May 16, 2003 07:41am |
Too close for call | Mattinglyfan | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2003 05:37pm |
Hello to all my friends | mtoombs | Baseball | 1 | Thu Aug 24, 2000 05:26pm |