![]() |
|
|
|||
Definition of a fair ball
Just trying to make sure I understand completely. Please bear with me.
2-5-1-f: A fair ball is a batted ball which while on or over fair territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, their clothing or equipment. Does clothing/equipment need to be worn by/attached to player/umpire? For example: a) On a bunt down the base line, the infielder's hat falls off while he is attempting to field the ball and the hat hits the ball in fair territory which then rolls into foul territory before passing/touching the base (and nothing else touched the ball other than the hat) b) Similar as above but runner's helmet falls off (unintentional) and hits ball in fair territory before it goes foul c) Another bunt, umpire takes off his mask when following the ball down the line but in doing so he accidentally loses his indicator and it hits the ball in fair territory and then rolls foul Are these fair or foul? |
|
|||
![]()
Whiteshadow,
a) Foul b) Foul c) Foul One of the trickier concepts regarding fair/foul is contact with an object "foreign to the natural ground". Hitting one of these foreign objects in FAIR territory does NOT determine the fair/foul status of a batted ball. Hitting a foreign object on/over foul territory makes the ball Foul. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
TWS,
Here's a good link to help you out with the fair/foul rule: http://www.amateurumpire.com/others/rs/rs08.htm |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() OK, so the batter bunts down the base line and the pitcher is running over to field the ball but he trips over his own feet and in the act of falling to the ground his glove comes off and it hits the ball while in fair territory and then the ball settles in foul territory before the base and no one else has touched it. According to CB 8.3.3.F, if a detached glove is accidental then it is not a penalty. What do you have? Does the glove cease to become a player's equipment as soon as it leaves his hand? Does the touching not count because the player was not wearing the glove? |
|
|||
No,
Quote:
Anyone who says it was unintentional was picking nits. See YA. Don't make it harder than it is. It is plenty tough already. |
|
|||
Quote:
Is there any situation where a glove comes off and it truly is unintentional, or is a player always responsible for his glove and thus it is always intentional? If CB 8.3.3.F is to be believed, then if there is such a thing as unintentional touching by a detached glove, it is not a penalty. And if there is such a thing as unintentional touching by a detached glove, then I'm assuming by your previous answer to my question that it would be a "nothing" until something else causes the ball to be fair or foul? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
![]()
Tim,
I am not aware of any FED reference that explictly delineates what is or is not a "foreign object" - I'm guessing that is at least partially the point you are raising. I believe the proper interpretation is that "foreign objects" are man-made things and that "natural objects" are not. I do believe there is precedent for considering equipment on the playing field (when not being worn/properly attached to the person of a player - or umpire, for that matter) to be a "foreign object". From J/R (Rules Differences Edition): Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Absent any intent, if a fair batted ball hits it in fair territory, play on. If a batted ball hits it on or over foul territory while live, it's a foul ball. What do you think? JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
(Originally this said 2.16.1.C, but that was a typo as I really meant 2.16.1.D). Last edited by TheWhiteShadow; Sat Feb 17, 2007 at 02:39pm. |
|
|||
Well SDS and Mr. Ives, Waiting
Quote:
I think you're making it UP. Play can not begin w/ these types of foreign objects laying around on the field. Rule change was made before I was ever born. Until CoachJM comes back to explain how he reasoned that accidently detached playing equipment provided a FAIR ruling under MLBUM (see helmet) and also supported a FOUL ruling under JEA (where a ball settles after striking a foreign object in vicinity of the plate); what source would you have for YOUR FOUL call. Please cite the source that states, "Should a detached fielder's glove or cap or HSM accidently strike a batted ball over fair territory, the result of any fair/foul decision shall lie upon the location upon where the baseball may settle." I can't wait to be educated again. Remember it was I who stated that it met the conditions of a FAIR batted ball. If you have something that proves me wrong, well, I'm all eyes. Perhaps answering my divot call would help too. Can a fielder accidently leave a trench along the fair/foul line with the heel of his cleat and then roll away from the ball in hopes that it goes foul? Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 17, 2007 at 11:17pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If a ball hits a pebble in fair territory, and rolls foul before passing 1st or 3rd base, what do you call? Now ... change pebble to helmet and your answer should be the same. If you don't get that, stop umpiring.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
HBP or Fair Ball | MNBlue | Softball | 3 | Sat May 13, 2006 09:28pm |
fair ball/foul ball | still_learning | Softball | 7 | Fri May 13, 2005 10:02am |
Rec. ball definition. | JRutledge | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 14, 2005 08:56pm |
fair ball/foul ball? | letumb | Softball | 2 | Mon Aug 05, 2002 01:13pm |
Fair ball or Foul ball? | unigambler | Softball | 1 | Fri Aug 02, 2002 02:30pm |