The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Definition of a fair ball

Just trying to make sure I understand completely. Please bear with me.

2-5-1-f: A fair ball is a batted ball which while on or over fair territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, their clothing or equipment.

Does clothing/equipment need to be worn by/attached to player/umpire? For example:

a) On a bunt down the base line, the infielder's hat falls off while he is attempting to field the ball and the hat hits the ball in fair territory which then rolls into foul territory before passing/touching the base (and nothing else touched the ball other than the hat)

b) Similar as above but runner's helmet falls off (unintentional) and hits ball in fair territory before it goes foul

c) Another bunt, umpire takes off his mask when following the ball down the line but in doing so he accidentally loses his indicator and it hits the ball in fair territory and then rolls foul

Are these fair or foul?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Whiteshadow,

a) Foul

b) Foul

c) Foul

One of the trickier concepts regarding fair/foul is contact with an object "foreign to the natural ground". Hitting one of these foreign objects in FAIR territory does NOT determine the fair/foul status of a batted ball. Hitting a foreign object on/over foul territory makes the ball Foul.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
That's gotta be one heavy indicator.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
TWS,

Here's a good link to help you out with the fair/foul rule:

http://www.amateurumpire.com/others/rs/rs08.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
When is something "foreign" to the field?

You say a hat does not count . . . what about a glove (not on hand)?
I was worried about asking this question at first because I thought I was missing something obvious and would get flamed for it. But if Tim C has the same question, then maybe I'm not such a newbie after all

OK, so the batter bunts down the base line and the pitcher is running over to field the ball but he trips over his own feet and in the act of falling to the ground his glove comes off and it hits the ball while in fair territory and then the ball settles in foul territory before the base and no one else has touched it. According to CB 8.3.3.F, if a detached glove is accidental then it is not a penalty. What do you have? Does the glove cease to become a player's equipment as soon as it leaves his hand? Does the touching not count because the player was not wearing the glove?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
No,

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWhiteShadow
I was worried about asking this question at first because I thought I was missing something obvious and would get flamed for it. But if Tim C has the same question, then maybe I'm not such a newbie after all

OK, so the batter bunts down the base line and the pitcher is running over to field the ball but he trips over his own feet and in the act of falling to the ground his glove comes off and it hits the ball while in fair territory and then the ball settles in foul territory before the base and no one else has touched it. According to CB 8.3.3.F, if a detached glove is accidental then it is not a penalty. What do you have? Does the glove cease to become a player's equipment as soon as it leaves his hand? Does the touching not count because the player was not wearing the glove?
Three base award on contact with thrown detached equipment.
Anyone who says it was unintentional was picking nits. See YA.
Don't make it harder than it is. It is plenty tough already.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Three base award on contact with thrown detached equipment.
Anyone who says it was unintentional was picking nits. See YA.
Don't make it harder than it is. It is plenty tough already.
OK, maybe this was a bad example, so I'll just ask it generically instead.

Is there any situation where a glove comes off and it truly is unintentional, or is a player always responsible for his glove and thus it is always intentional? If CB 8.3.3.F is to be believed, then if there is such a thing as unintentional touching by a detached glove, it is not a penalty.

And if there is such a thing as unintentional touching by a detached glove, then I'm assuming by your previous answer to my question that it would be a "nothing" until something else causes the ball to be fair or foul?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Three base award on contact with thrown detached equipment.
Anyone who says it was unintentional was picking nits. See YA.
Don't make it harder than it is. It is plenty tough already.
There is a specific case play where F5 (iirc) jumps for a line drive over his head, his gove comes off and contacts the ball. Ruling: Play on.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 04:28pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Three base award on contact with thrown detached equipment.
Anyone who says it was unintentional was picking nits. See YA.
Don't make it harder than it is. It is plenty tough already.
This is ridiculous advice. The default setting in all cases of detached equipment is "unintentional." The umpire must use judgment, and determine if, in his opinion, the equipment was detached intentionally. If the umpire does not rule that it is intentional, play on, McDuff.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2007, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Tim,

I am not aware of any FED reference that explictly delineates what is or is not a "foreign object" - I'm guessing that is at least partially the point you are raising.

I believe the proper interpretation is that "foreign objects" are man-made things and that "natural objects" are not.

I do believe there is precedent for considering equipment on the playing field (when not being worn/properly attached to the person of a player - or umpire, for that matter) to be a "foreign object".

From J/R (Rules Differences Edition):

Quote:
Unnatural objects would include a base, pitching rubber..., rosin bag, helmet, any portion of a broken bat,.... or similar object that may be on the playing field.

...

Birds, animals, rocks, and dirt clods are all considered to be natural objects. ...
Though specifically referring to OBR, rather than FED rules, we also have from the MLBUM:

Quote:
If a batted ball strikes a loose helmet accidentally (no intent on part of runner to interfere) in fair territory, the ball remains in play the same as if it had not hit the helmet.
If a batted ball strikes a helmet accidentally (no intent on part of runner to interfere) in foul territory, it is a foul ball.
and JEA:

Quote:
...
Any foul ball which contacts any object foreign to the natural ground (e.g. a helmet, a bat, a mask) shall be ruled "foul" regardless of where it settles or is touched.
Any fair ball which contacts any object foreign to the natural ground in the general vicinity of the plate shall be ruled fair or foul depending on where the ball settles or is touched. ...
Since there is no FED rule or ruling/interpretation that contradicts these OBR rulings or suggests they would be treated differently in a FED-based game, I would be inclined to rule that any piece of equipment or clothing which is lying on the field of playand not properly attached as a "foreign object".

Absent any intent, if a fair batted ball hits it in fair territory, play on. If a batted ball hits it on or over foul territory while live, it's a foul ball.

What do you think?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Since there is no FED rule or ruling/interpretation that contradicts these OBR rulings or suggests they would be treated differently in a FED-based game,
FED 2.5.1E The batter hits the ball, drops the bat and it unintentionally hits the ball a second time in ... (c) fair territory and is either touched by a fielder and/or comes to rest in foul territory. Ruling: In ...(c) the ball is fair.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
FED 2.5.1E The batter hits the ball, drops the bat and it unintentionally hits the ball a second time in ... (c) fair territory and is either touched by a fielder and/or comes to rest in foul territory. Ruling: In ...(c) the ball is fair.
2.16.1.D has almost the exact same scenario but it is ruled foul and it states that the "bat is considered to be part of the playing field".

(Originally this said 2.16.1.C, but that was a typo as I really meant 2.16.1.D).

Last edited by TheWhiteShadow; Sat Feb 17, 2007 at 02:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Well SDS and Mr. Ives, Waiting

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Tim,

I am not aware of any FED reference that explictly delineates what is or is not a "foreign object" - I'm guessing that is at least partially the point you are raising.

I believe the proper interpretation is that "foreign objects" are man-made things and that "natural objects" are not.

I do believe there is precedent for considering equipment on the playing field (when not being worn/properly attached to the person of a player - or umpire, for that matter) to be a "foreign object".


From J/R (Rules Differences Edition):

Though specifically referring to OBR, rather than FED rules, we also have from the MLBUM:

and JEA:

Since there is no FED rule or ruling/interpretation that contradicts these OBR rulings or suggests they would be treated differently in a FED-based game, I would be inclined to rule that any piece of equipment or clothing which is lying on the field of playand not properly attached as a "foreign object".

Absent any intent, if a fair batted ball hits it in fair territory, play on. If a batted ball hits it on or over foul territory while live, it's a foul ball.



What do you think?

JM

I think you're making it UP. Play can not begin w/ these types of foreign objects laying around on the field. Rule change was made before I was ever born.

Until CoachJM comes back to explain how he reasoned that accidently detached playing equipment provided a FAIR ruling under MLBUM (see helmet) and also supported a FOUL ruling under JEA (where a ball settles after striking a foreign object in vicinity of the plate); what source would you have for YOUR FOUL call.

Please cite the source that states, "Should a detached fielder's glove or cap or HSM accidently strike a batted ball over fair territory, the result of any fair/foul decision shall lie upon the location upon where the baseball may settle."

I can't wait to be educated again. Remember it was I who stated that it met the conditions of a FAIR batted ball. If you have something that proves me wrong, well, I'm all eyes.

Perhaps answering my divot call would help too. Can a fielder accidently leave a trench along the fair/foul line with the heel of his cleat and then roll away from the ball in hopes that it goes foul?

Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 17, 2007 at 11:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
What do I think? I think a fair ball stays fair, no matter where it settles.
For a moment, it sounded like you got it... then you lost it again.

If a ball hits a pebble in fair territory, and rolls foul before passing 1st or 3rd base, what do you call?

Now ... change pebble to helmet and your answer should be the same.

If you don't get that, stop umpiring.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
For a moment, it sounded like you got it... then you lost it again.

If a ball hits a pebble in fair territory, and rolls foul before passing 1st or 3rd base, what do you call?

Now ... change pebble to helmet and your answer should be the same.

If you don't get that, stop umpiring.
I think he's pointing out that there's a difference between "a batted ball in fair territory" and "a ball that has been judged to have become fair because of meeting one of the requirements." The phrase "fair ball" is often used to describe both, when perhaps "batted ball" should be used for the former and "fair ball" for the latter. Shrug. IMO, context will usually tell you which meaning is being used.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HBP or Fair Ball MNBlue Softball 3 Sat May 13, 2006 09:28pm
fair ball/foul ball still_learning Softball 7 Fri May 13, 2005 10:02am
Rec. ball definition. JRutledge Basketball 9 Mon Feb 14, 2005 08:56pm
fair ball/foul ball? letumb Softball 2 Mon Aug 05, 2002 01:13pm
Fair ball or Foul ball? unigambler Softball 1 Fri Aug 02, 2002 02:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1