The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Clarification

Preparing for rules session last night and came across the intentional drop by an infielder.

For some reason I can't seem to make sense from the FED book.

8-4-1c - his fair fly, fair line drive or fair bunt in flight is intentionally dropped by an infielder with at least first base occupeid and before there are two outs.

Ruling is ball is dead, BR is out and runners return.

Okay that makes sense as we want to prevent the DP by the defense.

Then I read the next section and it confuses me.

8-4-1c1 - in this situation the batter is not out if the infielder permits the fair fly, fair line drive or fair bunt in flight to drop untouched to the ground, except when the infield fly rule applies.


This seems like a contradiction. With infield fly the batter it out, but is this saying if the defense doesn't touch the ball we can't have an intentional drop?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification please PGCougar Baseball 7 Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:02am
Clarification: LLB 7.05 UmpireBob Baseball 4 Thu Jun 03, 2004 01:36am
HBP clarification please MisterV Softball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 09:45am
Clarification eeyink Basketball 13 Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1