The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Question FED: Passing an awarded base

Gentlemen-

I've been attending the clinics for new umpires to our HS association to help out as much as I can. Last night we were discussing certain mechanics and this situation came up.

R1, less than 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. R1 is stealing on the pitch, and the batter receives ball 4. We all know that this means that R1 is also given a live ball award of 2nd base because he's forced.

However:

In the sitch described by our rules interpretor, neither R1 nor the fielder covering second on the steal were aware that the pitch was ruled a ball and continued with the play at second. R1 slides on the outfield side of second, and is unable to reach the bag. His momentum carries him to the left-centerfield side of the bag where the tag is applied by the fielder.

I contend that R1 is out because he has passed the base that he was awarded and is now in peril. The clinician argues that since he didn't touch second on his way by, he is still protected by the award.

I'm almost certain I'm right (R1 out) but have some doubt. Any NFHS rule or casebook reference would be appreciated.

Thanks guys!
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Is the clinician saying that if R1 had touched 2B and then overslid and was tagged, he would be out, but because he missed 2B before the overslide, he is entitled to 2B and can't be tagged out?

I haven't done Fed in years, but either way it's an out unless Fed has made some peculiar exception (which I doubt).

To take an extreme example, what if the throw had gone into center field and R1 then missed 2B and attempted to make 3B but was tagged out. By this clinician's logic, R1 would be sent back to 2B, never having touched it and now entitled to his award.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Is the clinician saying that if R1 had touched 2B and then overslid and was tagged, he would be out, but because he missed 2B before the overslide, he is entitled to 2B and can't be tagged out?
This is pretty much word for word what he said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
To take an extreme example, what if the throw had gone into center field and R1 then missed 2B and attempted to make 3B but was tagged out. By this clinician's logic, R1 would be sent back to 2B, never having touched it and now entitled to his award.
This was my response as well to which he replied, "In your situation, he's making an attempt for third. That's the difference."

I don't get it. I was wondering if this is some sort of new FED rule.

He challenged me to find a rule that refutes his interpretation. I can't find one in the FED book, but that doesn't mean he's right, a point I made with him last night.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 12:05pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
I can't find a FED reference either, but in OBR, it states that a runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril.

To my understanding, if you overslide a base you are entitled to on a live ball award, such as a base on balls or detached equipment, and you get tagged, you are out.

I say his overslide is the same as turning and heading for third. He must touch the base to which he is forced to advance as a result of the batter becoming a runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
I think that by rule we all agree what the rule is, but I would have to see this play.

In this situation did the this guys slide 3 feet past the bag or 1/2 an inch?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
So an unsuccessful attempt to stop at a base is tantamount to attempting to advance?

So Stoping=Going?

Shouldn't this be similar to the liability of the BR at first base on an overrun? We don't treat a player as having touched a missed base in the middle of playing action at that base for appeals purposes; why would we for award purposes?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Thanks guys...

... for the rational replies.

Just to give a little history, the clinician in question is a pretty darn good umpire, and is the HS associations rules interpretor. I've had disagreements with him before on interpretations that he's made, and each time I question him (usually privately, but sometime in a group), he refuses to even discuss his ruling. He has never once said, "Oh, I get it now. I was mistaken."

The problem I have is that he doesn't revisit the sitch with the rest of the board therefore many of the umpires just take his word for it. Not good.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should 2 outs have been awarded ? nickrego Baseball 42 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:53am
Batter awarded first on third strike rwest Softball 2 Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:33pm
which base awarded on this obstruction? shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am
What has to happen to be awarded a single base or two bases gary carico Baseball 6 Thu Mar 06, 2003 03:12pm
Awarded bases - hit by pitch Blue316 Baseball 8 Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1