The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Here's the contradiction I see. 7.8 seems to imply that an unforced runner can advance on a play after a balk on ball four. This contradicts 7.8 where time is to be called as soon as the catcher catches the ball. For all practical purposes it doesn't make a big difference as if the balk is enforced R2 would be given third. However, if it's not to be enforced he would be in jeapordy should he advance beyond third.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Here's the contradiction I see. 7.8 seems to imply that an unforced runner can advance on a play after a balk on ball four. This contradicts 7.8 where time is to be called as soon as the catcher catches the ball. For all practical purposes it doesn't make a big difference as if the balk is enforced R2 would be given third. However, if it's not to be enforced he would be in jeapordy should he advance beyond third.


Tim.
I'm not see the same thing as you, Tim. I'm reading it to say that if a runner is not forced to advance because of ball four, the ball becomes dead and the umpire should enforce the balk.

I'm really struggling to see what you perceive to be a contradiction.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
7.8

However, if first base is not occupied and all other runners do not advance at least one base on the play, the balk penalty prevails:


If an unforced runner cannot advance on a ball four balk situation because time is to be called as soon as F2 catches the pitch, then why is the above provision provided. It either implys that an unforced runner can advance, or it's a useless statement. Turn it around and maybe you'll see what I'm getting at.

However, if first base is not occupied and all other runners do advance at least one base on the play, the balk penalty is disregarded.


Tim.

Last edited by BigUmp56; Wed Sep 27, 2006 at 07:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
7.8

However, if first base is not occupied and all other runners do not advance at least one base on the play, the balk penalty prevails:


If an unforced runner cannot advance on a ball four balk situation because time is to be called as soon as F2 catches the pitch, then why is the above provision provided. It either implys that an unforced runner can advance, or it's a useless statement. Turn it around and maybe you'll see what I'm getting at.

However, if first base is not occupied and all other runners do advance at least one base on the play, the balk penalty is disregarded.


Tim.
Now I get where you're coming from... I think it's a useless statement.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to NFump
What if the ball four pitch is a passed ball/wild pitch?
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Here's the contradiction I see. 7.8 seems to imply that an unforced runner can advance on a play after a balk on ball four. This contradicts 7.8 where time is to be called as soon as the catcher catches the ball. For all practical purposes it doesn't make a big difference as if the balk is enforced R2 would be given third. However, if it's not to be enforced he would be in jeapordy should he advance beyond third.


Tim.
Tim, I think what you're seeing as a contradiction is due to the not-explicitly-stated but still relevant difference between (1) a caught pitch, in which case time is called as soon as the pitch is caught, and the balk is enforced unless it was ball 4 and all runners are forced, and (2) an uncaught (wild pitch or passed ball) ball 4, in which the ball is left live because runners are free to advance BEYOND their protected one base award.

If you layer the "when to call time on a balk" instructions contained in the MLB Manual and the PBUC Manual into the rulings you're citing, I think you eliminate any perceived conflict or contradiction, and achieve a clearer understanding of exactly how to enforce a balk call, in every possible situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 05:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
You're right, Dave. I hadn't considered that the part of 7.8 that I was questioning was addressing the 'otherwise' provision of 8.05 penalty.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? johnnyg08 Baseball 2 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am
Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. nickrego Baseball 20 Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. chuckfan1 Baseball 21 Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! Gre144 Baseball 12 Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1