The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2006, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Can I summarize as follows:

1. In the OP, we judge R3 not to have intended to break up a double play, but he's hit by a fair ball. RULING: INT, dead ball, R3 out, award BR 1B, other runners advance only if forced.

2. If we judge R3 to have interfered to break up a double play; RULING: INT, dead ball, R3 out, and the next most advanced runner is out. If BR is not out on the play, award BR 1B, other runners advance only if forced. [I think this is different in FED, where R3 and BR would be out]

3. As I understand pro interps, R3 is out even if F5 is playing in and no other infielder has a play on the ball unless he's directly behind the fielder. The rationale for this interp is that the defense has a right to field a batted ball unhindered, whether that happens in the infield or outfield. Runners are given enough protection by the exception for being immediately behind a fielder.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) FUBLUE Softball 30 Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am
What would you have called? greymule Softball 16 Fri Aug 15, 2003 04:13pm
What would you have called? NYBAREF Basketball 11 Wed Mar 12, 2003 07:16pm
I called BI, I called BI!! rainmaker Basketball 26 Thu Jun 14, 2001 09:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1