![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Runner on 1st. The batter smacks a line drive base hit into the gap in left center. The runner flies around 2nd and is determined to score on the play. The3rd base coach is pointing for the runner to stop at 3rd. Seeing the runner is not going to stop, the coach gets in the runner's path home and is run over by his charging player. Both fall to the ground. The runner gets up and barely gets back to the base ahead of a tag. What's the call? RULING: The coach's action should be considered physically assisting. He probably prevented his player from being thrown out at home. However, the runner is called out for his coach's actions. The B-R returns to the base last touched at the time of the collision. |
|
|||
The question should not be "Was there contact?" (Although without contact, you have nothing). The question is, "Did the contact ASSIST the runner?" If so, out, if not, nothing. Note no mention of intent here. Did the contact have the effect of HELPING (Yes - out)? Did the contact have no effect on the runner or did the contact actually end up having the effect of HARMING the runner (Yes to either - nothing).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Lost of Coach's Box | Airborne! | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 08:15pm |
coach's interference | NavyCoach | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm |
Coach's Tip-Off | parepat | Football | 4 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:30pm |
Coach's Box | Barry C. Morris | Basketball | 14 | Thu Sep 13, 2001 03:32pm |
Coach's BS | oppool | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am |