The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
help with calls made last night's game

first of all this is babe ruth league that play's pro rules...first question is when the opposing coach callls time and goes and visits mound the third base coach of the other team calls his runners and batter over to talk and is informed that he can only do this once per inning thus using up his offensive time out...even though the other coach calls timeout?? I assumed that when the other coaches call time I can call my runners off the base and batter together as many times as I want if the other coach is call the time out??/please clarify...next one in the same game runner at first.... batter hits ball that then hits runner..1st baseman picks up ball after it hits runner and tags first before batter gets to first...ump calls delayed dead ball ...calls runner out and batter out...is this possible..thanks for all your help..csuram
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
Sitch 1: As long as you do not delay the game any further, you can talk to your players when the defense is conferring. If you continue to talk to your players after the defensive conference is over, then you can be charged with the offensive conference.

Sitch 2: As soon as the batted ball hit the runner from first, the ball is dead and the runner is out and the batter gets first base. Unless in the judgement of the umpire no other player had a legitimate chance of making a play on the ball, then the ball remains LIVE.
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
husker

husker so i my bring my players over as many times as i want if the opposing caoch is calling time out and i am not keeping my players together to long...and since the first baseman makes the play on the dead ball the batter is still awarded first..i this what i and hearing thanks in advance..csuram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 11:23am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by csuram
next one in the same game runner at first.... batter hits ball that then hits runner..1st baseman picks up ball after it hits runner and tags first before batter gets to first...ump calls delayed dead ball ...calls runner out and batter out...is this possible..thanks for all your help..csuram
The umpire incorrectly ruled in this case. First of all, if you are playing by pro rules, there is no such call as "delayed dead ball." The ball is either alive or dead. On plays such as obstruction or batter's interference when there is a possibility that the ball will become dead at a later time, no call is made until that time. Delayed dead ball is a HS and LL call. Secondly, as soon as the ball hit the runner before it reached F3, the ball is immediately dead, R1 is out for interference, and the batter-runner is awarded 1st base. There is no way to get two outs on this play. The umpire blew it.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The umpire incorrectly ruled in this case. First of all, if you are playing by pro rules, there is no such call as "delayed dead ball." The ball is either alive or dead. On plays such as obstruction or batter's interference when there is a possibility that the ball will become dead at a later time, no call is made until that time. Delayed dead ball is a HS and LL call. Secondly, as soon as the ball hit the runner before it reached F3, the ball is immediately dead, R1 is out for interference, and the batter-runner is awarded 1st base. There is no way to get two outs on this play. The umpire blew it.
Delayed dead ball in FED is not for interference. The ball is dead IMMEDIATELY.

Actually it IS possible to get two outs on an interference call. If the umpire rules that the runner INTENTIONALLY interfered, the BR is also out.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
If in the umpires opinion the defense would have probably had a double play had the runner not touched the ball the result would be the runner and the batter would both be retired.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
Delayed dead ball in FED is not for interference. The ball is dead IMMEDIATELY.

Actually it IS possible to get two outs on an interference call. If the umpire rules that the runner INTENTIONALLY interfered, the BR is also out.

Bob

The first two situations in FED where INT is a delayed dead ball that come to mind are coaches interference and batters interference.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
You can't expect the runner to disappear. If in the umpire's opinion the runner intentionally touched the ball (as bluezebra pointed out) then a double play is awarded. Otherwise, interference is called, runner is called out, and BR is at first.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 03:07pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
Delayed dead ball in FED is not for interference. The ball is dead IMMEDIATELY.

Actually it IS possible to get two outs on an interference call. If the umpire rules that the runner INTENTIONALLY interfered, the BR is also out.

Bob
That is incorrect. Batter's Interference is a delayed dead ball in FED.

In the situation given, it sounds like the umpire incorrectly called both the runner and the BR out. It sounded as though the batted ball just happened to hit the runner. Without intent, it is impossible to call two outs on that play. That is what I thought I was inferring when I wrote what I did. I guess I have to be more careful when using absolutes, because someone will always state an exception to the rule.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
guys what about not being able to call my

guys what about not being able to call my players over when they call time and coach goes and talks to pitcher...i am being told i can only talk to my players once per inning...if he goes out for the next time out i cannot bring my players over and talk to them..thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Husker answered your question:

Sitch 1: As long as you do not delay the game any further, you can talk to your players when the defense is conferring. If you continue to talk to your players after the defensive conference is over, then you can be charged with the offensive conference.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 07:44pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by csuram
guys what about not being able to call my players over when they call time and coach goes and talks to pitcher...i am being told i can only talk to my players once per inning...if he goes out for the next time out i cannot bring my players over and talk to them..thanks
When playing FED rules, if offensive coach calls TO to confer with batter or runners then he can only have one per inning. If he gathers batter or runners together during a TO called by defense as long as this discussion breaks up about the same time the defensive conference does, ie no delay of game, he is not charged with an offensive conference. This can happen more than once per inning.

In OBR he can call TO for as many offensive conferences per inning as the PU will stand for. There is no such thing as being charged with an offensive conference in OBR.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
That is incorrect. Batter's Interference is a delayed dead ball in FED.
That's right, and batter's interference is enforced exactly the same way in OBR, which is why it is unhelpful when instructing neophyte coaches to say things like "there's no such thing as delayed dead ball in OBR."

It's a concept, not a stipulated rule, and it is valid in several instances in OBR as well as FED.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by csuram
guys what about not being able to call my players over when they call time and coach goes and talks to pitcher...i am being told i can only talk to my players once per inning...if he goes out for the next time out i cannot bring my players over and talk to them..thanks
In FED, Little League, and most other rules codes I'm familiar with, the "other" team can conference for free when a team has a charged conference. I'm don't know if there is a specific ruling in support or to the contrary for your Cal Ripken, but if I were a bettor, I would bet that such an interpretation exists.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2006, 08:04pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
If, on the other hand, the offensive coach requests and is granted time to confer with a batter or a runner, and the defensive coach goes out to talk to his pitcher during the offensive conference, the defensive coach is charged with a trip to the mound (NCAA and OBR/PBUC official interpretation).
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock/Last Night's Lakers Game rulesmaven Basketball 19 Fri May 14, 2004 05:50pm
Close Plays Made to be Easy Calls whiskers_ump Softball 9 Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:46pm
Last Night's Game in World Championship-a couple of ??? call Kelvin green Basketball 6 Sat Sep 07, 2002 03:52pm
Last night's game... Dan_ref Basketball 1 Mon Jun 10, 2002 01:11pm
last night's game Steve M Softball 3 Fri Apr 12, 2002 10:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1