![]() |
|
|||
Clarification please
Here's the sitch - 16 YO travel ball with NFHS rules:
One out, runners on second and third. Batter hits fly ball to Right-Center, RF makes a great diving catch, runner at third tags, but runner at second runs to third assuming ball won't be caught. RF throws the ball all the way to third, third throws the ball back to second base where the runner was called out for the double play. After a discussion between HP and field umpires, they ruled that the run scored. They stated it was a "troubled" play - saying the throw was made to third before it was relayed to second, therefore the run was allowed to score despite the force play at second for the third out of the inning. Could someone please help clarify the call and point me in the right direction to appropriate references? I appreciate everyone's help. I hope I explained the sitch clearly, and apologize in advance since I'm a basketball person and only a spectator in baseball matters.
__________________
There are two kinds of fools: One says, “This is old, therefore it is good”; the other says, “This is new, therefore it is better.” - W.R. Inge |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clarification POD 5-3 | sm_bbcoach | Football | 31 | Wed May 19, 2004 09:56am |
HBP clarification please | MisterV | Softball | 2 | Mon May 10, 2004 09:45am |
Need a little clarification | David B | Baseball | 22 | Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am |
Clarification | eeyink | Basketball | 13 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm |
Clarification | jackgil | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am |