The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 04, 2006, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Mechanics

Hey as I have said before i am just getting into this. I have seen so many diffrent ways of calling strikes. If you could please tell me how you do it. Also strike 3. Please explain what you are doing not just terms for it. Yes I need baby steps please like first do this next do this and finnaly do this.
thanks
Old Tue Jul 04, 2006, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
When I call strikes, I point to the right with my right index finger. I do this whether the batter is left handed or right handed.

When calling the 3rd strike, I bring the right fist foward, and the pull back while bringin my left fist forward. Basically, doing a bow and arrow mechanic.
Old Tue Jul 04, 2006, 08:46pm

Fonz,

Called strikes (first and second strikes): I watch the pitch all the way to the mitt. I then call it to myself. This gives me 2 things, a confirmation of what I just saw, and proper timing. You don't want to jump up and call "Strike" the second the catcher catches the ball. You don't have to be ridiculously slow either. See the pitch to the mitt, call it in your own mind, then you are ready to perform the call itself.