The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Quote:
8.05 - b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first base and fails to complete the throw;
(c) The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base;
Rule 8.05(c) Comment: Requires the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off of his free foot without actually stepping or if he turns his body and throws before stepping, it is a balk.
A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps.

As you can see inregards to First Base OBR - he must step toward and throw to the BASE. On all other bases since he is not required to throw, he can throw to a player away from the base who can make a play. Otherwise the delay of game bit comes into play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Point of order your honor:

OK, let me get this straight:

For this situation let's say:

R1 is 25' off the base taking a HUGE lead.

Without disengaging, F1 and turns and throws to F3 who is standing between R1 and first base (let's say he is standing right next to R1 for this play).

F3 catches the throw and tags the runner.

Some of you are saying that under OBR, even if F3 makes the tag, it is a balk.

Have I understood the play correctly?

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
OK, let me get this straight:

For this situation let's say:

R1 is 25' off the base taking a HUGE lead.

Without disengaging, F1 and turns and throws to F3 who is standing between R1 and first base (let's say he is standing right next to R1 for this play).

F3 catches the throw and tags the runner.

Some of you are saying that under OBR, even if F3 makes the tag, it is a balk.

Have I understood the play correctly?

Regards,

Apparently so, Tim, and I have NO idea where they're coming up with that indefensible ruling. Maybe the same place coaches come up with this mythological 45* thing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
... Maybe the same place coaches come up with this mythological 45* thing.
UMP25,

Uh..., THIS particular coach came up with the "mythological 45* thing" from the following passage in the JEA in the discussion of 8.05(c):

Quote:
Customs and Usage: For practical enforcement purposes, stepping directly means stepping within 45 degrees of a direct, straight line to the base. In other words, the pitcher is NOT stepping MORE toward a different base than the one to which he is throwing.
JM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
UMP25,

Uh..., THIS particular coach came up with the "mythological 45* thing" from the following passage in the JEA in the discussion of 8.05(c):



JM
I'm not going to go of on a different rule now (BTW, I learned from Jaksa and Roder at school). Besides, has anyone bothered to every figure out why this 45* thing can't be 45*?

Hint: Let's talk geometry and the diagnonal of a square and the actual position of the rubber relative to this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I have a theory about where people are getting the idea that throwing to F3 off the base MUST be a balk. It's true that when F3 is playing back (say, with R1, R2), the pitcher can't throw to F3 when F3 is in no position to make a play on R1. But it doesn't follow that you can NEVER throw to F3 when he is off the bag. That's almost as silly as saying that because the rule says "throw to a base," it's a balk if a PLAYER catches the throw.

The purpose of the balk rule is to give the runner a chance of stealing a base by imposing restrictions on how the pitcher can hold him on. I believe that it's within the spirit of the rule (and accepted practice) to allow a throw to F3 off the bag if he has a reasonable chance to make a play - the same rationale, by the way, for allowing F1 to throw to 2B with R1. Provided F1 complied with the other requirements (stepping ahead of throw, etc.) I would not have ruled a balk the given case (F3 six feet from 1B, tags out R1).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
For reference Ump25, I simply said it comes into play, not that it has to be or should be called, now you need to determine if the throw was simply used to DELAY the GAME. I doubt it would ever be that. Therefore most likely a "play on".

The rules say you must step toward and throw to the BASE. At first you Must complete the action, all other bases don't require this so the Feint to the base is action A, the throw is a subsequent action. At First you must step and throw to the BASE. In my area a Step and reach from the base is OK, but that is the leeway allowed.

The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. -- Doesn't say toward a fielder 25 feet from a base. Now remember at all other bases you can Feint a throw, and therefore do not have to THROW to the BASE. At First YOU MUST STEP AND THROW TO THE BASE.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Oh boy... GEOMETRY

Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
Besides, has anyone bothered to every figure out why this 45* thing can't be 45*?

Hint: Let's talk geometry and the diagnonal of a square and the actual position of the rubber relative to this.
That's simple.... the pitchers plate is NOT centered between home plate and second base. It is in fact 1.5 feet closer to home plate...

SCUMP... let's hear the sarcasm...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Wink Redo the Math

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
That's simple.... the pitchers plate is NOT centered between home plate and second base.
Right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
It is in fact 1.5 feet closer to home plate...
Wrong.

Distance from home base to second base is 127 feet, 3.35 inches {OBR 1.04}.
Distance from home base to pitcher's plate is 60 feet, 6 inches {OBR 1.07}.
Redo the math.

Last edited by SAump; Fri Jun 16, 2006 at 04:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
As you can see inregards to First Base OBR - he must step toward and throw to the BASE. On all other bases since he is not required to throw, he can throw to a player away from the base who can make a play. Otherwise the delay of game bit comes into play.
No, the delay of game bit does not come into play. You and SA above are completely misinterpreting that rule as well.

Jeesh, enough already! It's bad enough that we have one misinterpreted OBR rule, now we have to bring in from nowhere this delay of game balk rule?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Unhappy A Play Was Made

Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
No, the delay of game bit does not come into play. You and SA above are completely misinterpreting that rule as well.

Jeesh, enough already! It's bad enough that we have one misinterpreted OBR rule, now we have to bring in from nowhere this delay of game balk rule?
Sheesh, from what I read previously your response were on the money. Now if you read what I wrote you will find that I gave the correct ruling also and the CORRECT OBR rule interpretations. I will not continue this silly debate. It's bad enough when ONE guy makes things UP. It's worse when four or five people agree with his position out of some kind of loyalty thing.

A play was made on the baserunner. It is not a balk. It is an OUT.
Had F3 not had a chance of making a legitimate play, the old rulebook considered it a delay of game and the penalty was a balk. The rules have changed I have have already posted them too. I do not understand why the argument continues. Perhaps, I have learned something.

Last edited by SAump; Fri Jun 16, 2006 at 04:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Perhaps. Anyway, enough of this bickering. Let's all move along now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk Call Pags Sr. Baseball 11 Sun May 21, 2006 09:12am
balk call? livtrav Baseball 13 Wed Jun 08, 2005 04:20pm
A most unusual call... Camron Rust Basketball 4 Wed Mar 17, 2004 09:58pm
Do you call this a balk? gmtomko Baseball 5 Mon Apr 21, 2003 05:35am
Call the balk or not edhern Baseball 2 Sun Mar 31, 2002 12:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1