The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

mcrowder & S.D. Steve,

While I certainly get your point that "occupying home plate" is kind of a strange concept, I believe that, by rule, the R3 in TwoBits' original sitch fulfills the requirements from exemption from unintentional interference stated in the highlighted section of 7.08(b) I quoted above.

I believe that the letter, spirit, & intent of the rule is to exempt a runner who is "in contact" with a base (any base) as long as he is "legally" in contact with that base. Per 7.01, the R3 meets the requirement.

I believe that TwoBits' description was intended to convey the point that the R3 was touching home at the time the contact with F2 occurred. Otherwise, he wouldn't have posed the "variation" at the very end of his initial post.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
I believe that the letter, spirit, & intent of the rule is to exempt a runner who is "in contact" with a base (any base) as long as he is "legally" in contact with that base. Per 7.01, the R3 meets the requirement.
No, the letter, spirit, and intent of the rule is not to force a runner from vacating the only safe space he has in order to keep from interfering with a fielder. Home plate is not a "safe space" in the way that bases are. What would the purpose of a rule saying a runner could stand on home plate and not be guilty of interference be? There's no reason for him to stay there like there is at other bases (i.e. protection from the chance of being put out).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

mcrowder,

While I would certainly agree with your assertion that the rule allows a (non-forced) runner to remain in contact with a base, I believe it also allows him to attempt to reach an advance base. If he is successful, and is in contact with his advance base at the time contact with a protected fielder occurs, the rule says he is exempt from interference.

In terms of the rule, I don't see anything that suggests home is treated differently.

Have you got anything that says he would not be protected? Because the actual texe of the rule says he is protected.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
mcrowder,While I would certainly agree with your assertion that the rule allows a (non-forced) runner to remain in contact with a base, I believe it also allows him to attempt to reach an advance base. If he is successful, and is in contact with his advance base at the time contact with a protected fielder occurs, the rule says he is exempt from interference.
Sure it does - I agree... he is exempt from interference while touching his advance base as well - because if he were to stray from this bag, he would be in jeopardy.

Quote:
In terms of the rule, I don't see anything that suggests home is treated differently.
It's completely different - one does not OCCUPY home plate. In fact, the mere act of touching home changes you from a runner to a runner who has scored (which, in the context of several other rules, merely makes you an offensive teammate, equivalent at best to a coach, and no longer a runner). There is no reason to need to use home plate as a save haven protecting you from being tagged - as once you've touched home, you've scored.

Quote:
Have you got anything that says he would not be protected? Because the actual texe of the rule says he is protected.
Well, first the rule refers to a base, not to home plate, but I can see where one might use different rules to assume the plate is the same as a base. But more importantly, if a runner has scored, he's no longer a runner - I can't see this rule as saying he's protected anymore once he is no longer a runner.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher's Interference on a Squeeze Play isneths Baseball 5 Wed Jul 14, 2004 01:18pm
Squeeze play interference? tornado Baseball 4 Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:37am
Suicide Squeeze Coverage-Two man Crew gsf23 Baseball 15 Thu Mar 06, 2003 04:39pm
Play Situation from another Forum wadep1965 Baseball 8 Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:32pm
game play situation? crew Basketball 8 Tue Dec 11, 2001 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1