![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The moment you touch the base, you are occupying it. There is no rule that says how soon you have to vacate the base. There was no impending play from another runner, so he could stay put until he is sure of the umpire's call. If there was an impending play, then the runner would have to vacate the area of the next play. But it is an interesting concept...The occupation of Home Plate. I don't recall that ever being discussed here.
__________________
Have Great Games ! Nick |
|
|||
|
mcrowder & S.D. Steve,
While I certainly get your point that "occupying home plate" is kind of a strange concept, I believe that, by rule, the R3 in TwoBits' original sitch fulfills the requirements from exemption from unintentional interference stated in the highlighted section of 7.08(b) I quoted above. I believe that the letter, spirit, & intent of the rule is to exempt a runner who is "in contact" with a base (any base) as long as he is "legally" in contact with that base. Per 7.01, the R3 meets the requirement. I believe that TwoBits' description was intended to convey the point that the R3 was touching home at the time the contact with F2 occurred. Otherwise, he wouldn't have posed the "variation" at the very end of his initial post. JM |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
mcrowder,
While I would certainly agree with your assertion that the rule allows a (non-forced) runner to remain in contact with a base, I believe it also allows him to attempt to reach an advance base. If he is successful, and is in contact with his advance base at the time contact with a protected fielder occurs, the rule says he is exempt from interference. In terms of the rule, I don't see anything that suggests home is treated differently. Have you got anything that says he would not be protected? Because the actual texe of the rule says he is protected. JM |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The runner in this sitch TOUCHED home plate, but doesn't occupy home plate. If you could occupy home plate, we'd have sitches here described as: 1 out, 1-1 count, R1 on Home, R2 on 2nd. Home plate is not a safe haven like a base is (in most cases). Similarly, if you find 2 runners on a base, one can be tagged out, as only 1 can OCCUPY that base legally. But two runners on the plate is nothing.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Catcher's Interference on a Squeeze Play | isneths | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 01:18pm |
| Squeeze play interference? | tornado | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:37am |
| Suicide Squeeze Coverage-Two man Crew | gsf23 | Baseball | 15 | Thu Mar 06, 2003 04:39pm |
| Play Situation from another Forum | wadep1965 | Baseball | 8 | Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:32pm |
| game play situation? | crew | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 11, 2001 03:18pm |