The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIump50
If you kill the play immediately you deny the defense the opportunity to make a play on the preceding runner or other runners.
I'd verbalize and indicate which runner is out and let play continue.

Say then the defense throws the ball to second. Do you still have a force here or could the runner return to first base?

In the case I described, there was a moment when both runners were both standing on first base at the same time. The BR rounded first and took a few steps toward second. Then returned to the bag when the ball dropped in fair.

If I immediately called the BR for passing R1, that would have effectively removed the force. But isn't this a delayed dead ball situation? The BR is called out after all plays are over, and the force remains. If the ball had reached 2nd before R1, he would be out on the force and the BR would be called out for passing R1.

Is this correct?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
Say then the defense throws the ball to second. Do you still have a force here or could the runner return to first base?

In the case I described, there was a moment when both runners were both standing on first base at the same time. The BR rounded first and took a few steps toward second. Then returned to the bag when the ball dropped in fair.

If I immediately called the BR for passing R1, that would have effectively removed the force. But isn't this a delayed dead ball situation? The BR is called out after all plays are over, and the force remains. If the ball had reached 2nd before R1, he would be out on the force and the BR would be called out for passing R1.

Is this correct?

The BR is immediately out - removing the force.

It isn't any kind of dead ball situation.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
point at the runner in violation and declare him out. this is a live ball situation. once the following runner is declared out, the force is removed. this would also be a case of a time play, if there are 2 out and runners scoring on the play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
when has a runner passed another runner? Jake80 Baseball 7 Thu May 06, 2004 07:37pm
Passed Ball on Third Strike starman Baseball 2 Wed May 05, 2004 10:00pm
Passed Balls - Little Leagues COACH O Baseball 6 Sat May 01, 2004 12:40am
Passed the test! mvp2jeter Basketball 5 Sat Nov 08, 2003 11:40pm
Thanks everyone, I passed fern2340 Basketball 21 Mon Jun 25, 2001 06:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1