The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
Did anyone see tonight's phillies / cards game. Phils were down one run in the bottom of the ninth. Bases loaded, two out. Burrell stikes out swining but the ball gets by the catcher. The runner on thrid scores long before burrell is tagged out at first. I would have thought that the run counts, but the run did not count and the game ended.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 124
Nope it's a force play.... same as if he hit a ground ball and he was put out prior to reaching first (regardless of whether R3 crosses first)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 10:00pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
No run can score when the 3rd out is made on the BR before he reaches 1B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1