The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Cal Ripken Ball In Play Rule Question

situation: Player A rounds second base and is less than 1/2 way to third when a thrown ball by an infielder rolls "under" the fence causing it to be dead. Player A is only allowed to advance to third in this situation or is he allowed home? A reply with rule quoted would be appreciated.

sorry, should have mentioned it's 11-12 year division if that makes a difference
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to NFump
7.05 g is the rule.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to NFump
Two bases from time of throw. Runner should be awarded home.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Bruce:

Carefull, this sure sounds like the first play by an infielder, in which case the award would be two bases from TOP, leaving the runner on third.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Refinator,

It depends.

Was the throw by the infielder which went out of play the "first play" attempted by the defense after a batted ball? If so, then it would depend on what base the runner "occupied" at the time the pitcher initiated his delivery.

If it was the first play and the runner occupied 1B at the Time of Pitch (TOP), then the correct award would be 3B. Doesn't matter if the runner is halfway between 1B and 2B, halfway between 2B and 3B, or alread rounding 3B.

If the throw was NOT the 1st play by an infielder, then it depends on what base the runner had reached/passed at the time the throw left the infielder's hand. He would be awarded 2 bases beyond that base.

Quote:
7.05
Each runner including the batter runner may, without liability to be put out, advance_ ...(g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made; ...
JM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
JM:

Do I have to change font colors here also?



Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to NFump
situation: Player A rounds second base...unlikely this is a first play. More likely a base hit to the outfield.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Sorry, should have been more specific. It was a hit to the outfield, and the errant throw was to third by the first baseman who recieved the ball from the right fielder.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 12, 2006, 11:13pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRefinator
Sorry, should have been more specific. It was a hit to the outfield, and the errant throw was to third by the first baseman who recieved the ball from the right fielder.
Two bases from TOT from an outfielder, or TOT from an infielder when not the first play, by an infielder. Award the runner HOME.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Cal Ripken Div: Special Base Running Rule MarionTiger Baseball 24 Mon Jun 14, 2004 08:29pm
Shorthanded - Cal Ripken Duke Baseball 11 Mon May 31, 2004 03:21am
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Cal Ripken Little league Rules? Dougaa Baseball 2 Fri May 24, 2002 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1